Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2012, 09:36 PM   #41
Member
 
Lawr&Moe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 34
We have a 36RE & I just set up a dual tuner satellite. In the LH cubby under the TV there are what appears to be 3 coax connections - the one with 2 connections on a single plate, the top connection is to the front roof connection & the bottom connection goes to the satellite in located in the main panel in the dog house. Seems odd to me but it works!
Lawr&Moe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 07:37 AM   #42
Senior Member
 
5th_Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,136




Grey is CableTV/Antennae-Out from booster. Orange is Satellite. White isAntennae-In to the booster. Of course, there are several splitters along the way, but that is the general color code. I needed an ohmeter to trace roof cables, entertainment center RG6, etc on my RL.


I had (3) unlabeled orange RG6 cables taped up in the entertainment center. One was Satellite-In from the roof bulkhead. One was Satellite-Out to the bedroom's (2) wirebulkhead above the TV (the other position is grey CableTV/Antennaefrom the booster). The last was Satellite-In from the Convenience Center to the Entainment Center (for tripod-type dishes I guess).
Edited by: 5th_Time
__________________
Mike & Pam '12 36RL, Kodiak Discs, 17.5" G114s H-Rated, SRE4000 w/HD Shackles, Joy Rider Shocks, Flex Air, 5.5 Onan, W&D, DW, 4 Scare Lights, (2) 6V Trojan T-145s; Progressive EMS-HW50C, Winegard DTV Sat, Sony/Denon 4K Home Theater, WiFiRanger EliteAC Pack, weBoost 4G-X Cell Booster.

2020 RAM 3500 Limited CC, LB, 4x4, DRW, Max Tow, Cummins HO, AISIN, 4.10, Mopar 30K w/OEM Prep, Transfer Flow 70gal Aux Tank/Toolbox.
5th_Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 07:48 AM   #43
Senior Member
 
KR2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959
I just sorted out the wires on my FL yesterday and my wire colors are a little different than yours Mike. dark gray is the antenna /cable line to the TV's. white is a dedicated line to the bedroom from outside. orange with 1 loop of black tape is sat feed from the receiver to all TV's orange with 2 loops of black tape is from the roof to the receivers each is dedicated 1 to the living room and 1 to the bedroom the plain orange line in the living room is the sat line from outside to the receiver in the living room. Black is the cable line into the booster.Edited by: KR2011
__________________

"75 FEET OF FUN ON THE RUN"
KR2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 07:56 AM   #44
Senior Member
 
5th_Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,136


I think we're saying the same thing. If not, it might be a difference between the FL and the RL. I have the RL's Satellite schematics from Redwood.
__________________
Mike & Pam '12 36RL, Kodiak Discs, 17.5" G114s H-Rated, SRE4000 w/HD Shackles, Joy Rider Shocks, Flex Air, 5.5 Onan, W&D, DW, 4 Scare Lights, (2) 6V Trojan T-145s; Progressive EMS-HW50C, Winegard DTV Sat, Sony/Denon 4K Home Theater, WiFiRanger EliteAC Pack, weBoost 4G-X Cell Booster.

2020 RAM 3500 Limited CC, LB, 4x4, DRW, Max Tow, Cummins HO, AISIN, 4.10, Mopar 30K w/OEM Prep, Transfer Flow 70gal Aux Tank/Toolbox.
5th_Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 09:11 AM   #45
Senior Member
 
KR2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959
I have no schematics from the factory but from day one my satellite hook ups would not work at all so i had to take all of the covers off of the wall and pull out the fireplace to sort out what they did. In doing so I found 3 wires hooked up to wrong wires where they joined them for the slide out connections and one 2 that were crossed outside at the utility compartment. Now I know for sure how MY trailer is wired for satellite and cable.
__________________

"75 FEET OF FUN ON THE RUN"
KR2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 10:34 AM   #46
Senior Member
 
5th_Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,136



Yup, I had to do the same thing. There was a T behind the fireplace that split the raw Satellite-Out to the bedroom and basement (for another receiver), but thenalso sent a segment to the double jack in back of the main TV. Since TV's can't use a "raw" Satellite signal, and there is obviously no place for the receiver behind the TV, Idon't know what they were thinking.The T should actually split the orangeSatellite-In cable running from the roof mounted dish to the receiver if using Winegard's single-wire SWM system as I am (which only needs the single factorywireinstead ofordering4 RG6 cables run through the roof).


The real head-scratcher though is in the Convenience Center. TheRG6 behindthe "Cable" door of thetwo flip doorsat the top of the convenience center is wrong. Mine has a grey wirein that position(which is the CableTV/Antennae-Out). The correct input wire is the Black RG6 that is behind the unlabeled single flip door halfway down the panel. The solutionis to swap the black & grey RG6 cables so the "Satellite" and "Cable" inputs are together - and then label the single flip door "CABLETV/Antennae-Out." Takes about 5 minutes.

I wondered why I couldn't get any CableTV service at the campground. I thought I was doing thechannel search wrong or something.
Edited by: 5th_Time
__________________
Mike & Pam '12 36RL, Kodiak Discs, 17.5" G114s H-Rated, SRE4000 w/HD Shackles, Joy Rider Shocks, Flex Air, 5.5 Onan, W&D, DW, 4 Scare Lights, (2) 6V Trojan T-145s; Progressive EMS-HW50C, Winegard DTV Sat, Sony/Denon 4K Home Theater, WiFiRanger EliteAC Pack, weBoost 4G-X Cell Booster.

2020 RAM 3500 Limited CC, LB, 4x4, DRW, Max Tow, Cummins HO, AISIN, 4.10, Mopar 30K w/OEM Prep, Transfer Flow 70gal Aux Tank/Toolbox.
5th_Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 01:06 PM   #47
Senior Member
 
RollsRoyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 693
Send a message via Yahoo to RollsRoyce


Why are we having to do all of these cable adjustments and schematical work to enjoy our units? Is this an industry problem? Is this a warranty item issue that I can have repaired at my dealer and use my time for my time? I'm sure if we had to rewire our units in our autos we'd be a little bent out of shape.

It's not that I can't figure it out and do it it's a question of why should I?
__________________
Royce & Rachel Stanley
2008 F250 6.4 Diesel
6speed Auto SRW
RW36FB
RollsRoyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 01:44 PM   #48
Senior Member
 
lillyputz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by RollsRoyce
Why are we having to do all of these cable adjustments and schematical work to enjoy our units? Is this an industry problem? Is this a warranty item issue that I can have repaired at my dealer and use my time for my time? I'm sure if we had to rewire our units in our autos we'd be a little bent out of shape.



It's not that I can't figure it out and do it it's a question of why should I?
Your absolutely right. we are all suffering with the mistakes and problems that redwood has created, at our inconvenient and some expense, because of there lack of quality control and dealers that don't bother to check everything out to make sure everything functions as it is suppose to. we pick ours up on 4-24-12. it has been in the shop for repairs 19 days, with no end in site.



Lillyputz
__________________
36RE Redwood LEMON
lillyputz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 01:45 PM   #49
Senior Member
 
5th_Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,136




Royce, it sounds like you don't have your unit yet... If you do, thenyou've found that it's easier to work down your long listof anomaliesyourself than to drive (sometimeshours) to drop off your unit and have the dealer "work on" it for weeks -only to find that the issues weren't fixed or you find additional problems once you returned home - forcing another visit.

It's disappointing to have the list of issues that everyone has to overcome after they take delivery - there is really no excuse for every unit having the same issues. But one of the benefits of this forum is that everyone is providing information to help you do it if you're handy and have the inclination. Might save you a trip back to the dealer.

Edited by: 5th_Time
__________________
Mike & Pam '12 36RL, Kodiak Discs, 17.5" G114s H-Rated, SRE4000 w/HD Shackles, Joy Rider Shocks, Flex Air, 5.5 Onan, W&D, DW, 4 Scare Lights, (2) 6V Trojan T-145s; Progressive EMS-HW50C, Winegard DTV Sat, Sony/Denon 4K Home Theater, WiFiRanger EliteAC Pack, weBoost 4G-X Cell Booster.

2020 RAM 3500 Limited CC, LB, 4x4, DRW, Max Tow, Cummins HO, AISIN, 4.10, Mopar 30K w/OEM Prep, Transfer Flow 70gal Aux Tank/Toolbox.
5th_Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 09:02 PM   #50
Senior Member
 
RollsRoyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 693
Send a message via Yahoo to RollsRoyce


We do have our unit we pic ked it up on April 24th and spent 2 nights at a park 4 miles from dealer...Found several problems and dropped off at dealer and went home...Picked it up 10 days later and had problems with leveling unit after separating from Tow ....2 new batteries were too low to correctly operate the system,,,Went to local dealers with new Group 24 batteries with only 10.5 readings on both batteries.....Makes you go Hmmmmm!...They said they would never put anything less than a Group 27 battery and that it appeared our dealer apparentlt did not fully charge my new batteries before installing them....Upon calling my dealer (with the same company} they promised me 2 new matching batteries and they don't carry anything but Group 24's.... and all the cables they used were red...no black for the negative connections which tried to get replaced but they don't carry black cables...so I put black electrical tape on all my negative connections.......Then I called Interstate Batteries and explained my problem and for a mere $15.00 they swapped 2 Group 27's for my 2 Group 24's and showed me that they were fully charged to 12.9........We will be usin our rig next weeken dor the 2nd time......
__________________
Royce & Rachel Stanley
2008 F250 6.4 Diesel
6speed Auto SRW
RW36FB
RollsRoyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:29 AM   #51
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12


I just picked up my 36fl and am trying to locate the splitter location of the cable tv wires.I had them install a satelite and do not know where the splitters are. Can anyone provide assistance
measton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 11:04 AM   #52
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 113


Would you please send me the schematics. I just purchased a 36RL and am having the same problem setting up my DVR. I agree. Better to try and solve these things ourselves than take it to a dealer and still have the problems. We are full timers and have been for 15 years. The last 5er we had we did everything from adjusting the slides to redoing the shakles. Thanks for any help to figure the DVR connection out. dbjdkm@aol.com
DonMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 08:44 PM   #53
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 113


I am trying to connect my second line to my DVR. You used the sat connection in the cargo area for your second line in with success. What line inside did you use to connect to your DVR. I Have three. One orange with one piece of black tape. One orange line with two pieces of black tape. One orange with no tape. Actually my line one is the orange one without any tape. It is the only one that I could get ANY signal in to the DVR. I hade to use the cable in not the sat in at the convience center to get any signal except antenna. Have not tried the cargo thing yet. Not sure what line to connect to the DVR. Thanks to anyone for assistance.
DonMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 10:21 PM   #54
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
I wouldn't mind having them I just got my 36 re yesterday and I'm having problems with my satellite
Thanks aaron
Talley4646@gmail.com
__________________
aaron
l.u.219welder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 12:25 PM   #55
Senior Member
 
RollsRoyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 693
Send a message via Yahoo to RollsRoyce



I too wouild like to have the information...assume it would be the same for RW 36 FB
...forgot stanley1446@sbcglobal.net Edited by: RollsRoyce
__________________
Royce & Rachel Stanley
2008 F250 6.4 Diesel
6speed Auto SRW
RW36FB
RollsRoyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 10:48 PM   #56
Junior Member
 
Vandam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
I would appreciate the wiring diagram as well. I'm picking up my 36RE early next week!

scvandam@icloud.com
Vandam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 12:48 PM   #57
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55


I, too, will appreciate the wiring diagram, since I have a 36 RE on order with an anticipated mid to late February arrival. My email address is jim.duncan@secoenergy.com.

I have the Traveler dish mounted on my motorhome and it works extremely well. Consequently, I am talking with the dealer about installing one on the Redwood, since it is "supposed" to be pre-wired for the Traveler.

Has anyone installed or had installed one of the Winegard Traveler dishes for DIRECTV or for DISH for that matter.

Thanks,
jpdunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 01:05 PM   #58
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 216

I have the Traveler installed on my 36RL. It took the shop over 20 hours to get the thing installed and all 3 TV's working. Main reason - wire splitters and incorrectly installed sat cables during the build process. We ended up pulling the cable out of convenience station for sat hook up and ran that to the basement for my TV and receiver down there as we never could locate the splitters. I like the traveler and wish Redwood would really sit down with Winegard, DirecTV and Dish to ensure that when they are building the coach, they are wiring the sat correctly. I have 3 TV's and run 3 separate receivers which created a few of the issues as Redwood wires the basement to be run off of the main living room receiver. I wanted to be able to watch different programs on all 3 TV's...Only downside to the traveler is the wind. Normal wind is ok, but when it gusts or is getting stormy, I end up turning my dish off so that it does not get torn off the roof of the coach. I prefer the KVH Dome as I dont have to worry about storms and gusts, but having all 3 satellites on 1 dish with the traveler is nice. Life is full of compromises...

Edited by: Enroute
__________________
2014 Ram 3500HD Longhorn
2013 Redwood 36RL
Enroute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 01:39 PM   #59
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55


Thanks for the response regarding the Traveler. Out motorhome came with the in-motion dome, but with DIRECTV, it can't provide HD programming so we added the Traveler and it has worked well. So far, we haven't had the wind issue, but I understand what you are saying.

I will also be interested in possibly setting up three independent receivers, but I anticipate the pre-wiring to only accomodate two so, since we won't be fulltimers, I may just live with two.

I am also curious, how owners have installed a basement TV? Are any of the surfaces strong enough for a wall mount or is the TV simply stored there and left free standing while being viewed?

I know they are now offering an "entertainment center" with a flip down TV, but it is fairly small--relatively speaking.

Thanks,
jpdunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 09:01 PM   #60
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,678



OK, here's what you have to do, if they haven't started on you unit contact Brian and explain what you want to do. I did that with our RL and had the Factory lay in the four cables from the Winegard 3005 DirecTV Slimline dish, they sent me a copy of the RL drawing with Xs where the cables were to be terminated and had be sign and return it if that was exactly where I wanted them. So twofor the main tv's DVR, one in the bedroom and the fourth into the basement. The control box mounts in a cabinet in the bedroom. Just make sure when you dealer installs the dish that they contact RW for the exact location of the control cable (it is pre-installed). Mine was installed by Lazy Days in Florida, and either the Tech didn't know about the pre-installed control cable or was just too lazy to ask. So he ran the control cable the lenght of the rig and drilled down into the bedroom cabinet (not really happy about it, but was done and not much we could do after the fact. All the coax cables were all there on the roof, so justfour short jumpers from the dish to them. As for wind, we've been in some pretty big winds and never a problem, only time we get fade is during strong thunder storms and those cloud bursts that go along with them.

For installation in the basement. I bought two pieces of 1/2 plywood 1' x 1' and mounted one on each side of the rear basement bulkhead close to the door. Picked up a universal jointed swing arm mount from Sam's Club and mounted it to the double plywood. Lets the TV swing out for viewing or fit flat against the bulkhead when not in use. Have yet to make a shelf to hang from the basement ceiling to hold the receiver.Edited by: mhs4771
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×