Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2013, 08:53 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,856
A standard features listing on the RW website show a Progressive 90 amp/12v DC converter and a 100 amp power converter. Since I missed this during the orientation, would anyone mind describing the difference and purpose between the two features? Thanks.
__________________
2012 F350 KR CC DRW w/ some stuff
2013 36FL
Cindy and Tom, Toby and Kasey (our Berner and Newfie)
Oh...I forgot the five kids.
spindrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 09:22 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Adamsvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 596
Easy way to think about it is that a converter, converts 110VAC to 12VDC, and an inverter takes 12VDC and converts it to 110VAC. So if you are going to run a microwave, as an example, and are not hooked up to shore power, using an inverter allows you to convert the RV's DC to AC and run the microwave.Edited by: Adamsvr
Adamsvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 10:31 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by spindrift
A standard features listing on the RW website show a Progressive 90 amp/12v DC converter and a 100 amp power converter. Since I missed this during the orientation, would anyone mind describing the difference and purpose between the two features? Thanks.
That's a good question. They are both converters, but I think they are trying to say the 90A is standard, and the Full Time Living Package comes with a 100A.
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 11:01 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Oriana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,257


That's how I read it. We have that package and the 100A converter
__________________

Andy & Judi, Canine Companions Duke & Kona
2012 F350 Lariat CC SRW Airlift 5000 |2013 RW 36FL Winegard Trav'ler
Travel Blog: www.andyandjudi.com
Oriana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 11:05 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,856
Once again, I'm confused. Why in the world would you need a converter rated at 90, or even 100 amps if all it's doing is charging the batteries in the coach? What am I missing?
__________________
2012 F350 KR CC DRW w/ some stuff
2013 36FL
Cindy and Tom, Toby and Kasey (our Berner and Newfie)
Oh...I forgot the five kids.
spindrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 11:24 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,094
It's a good thing - The Converter has two functions. When you plug into 110VAC, it provides converted 12V power to all of your 12V lights and appliances so they are no longer running off batteries, and it charges the batteries. The higher the amps, the more capacity for running 12V items. Kind of like having a larger capacity electrical panel on your stick house.

I now have only a 55A, which was big at the time. When I disconnect the batteries and plug into AC for the winter, I noticed the converter alone does not have enough power to run the slides.
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 01:50 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
i have a 2012 36FB, does anyone know where the converter is located?
Red River Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 04:40 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Rick and Mindy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red River Sage View Post
i have a 2012 36FB, does anyone know where the converter is located?
I can tell you that if you are using your 12volt lights you will probably be able to hear the converter cycle as it has a fan for cooling purposes. Just follow the fan sound and you will probably find it. I have a 31 sl and it is located in the same place all the plumbing, water pump, filter is located.
__________________
Rick and Mindy
Retired
2013 Redwood 31SL, 2011 Ford F350 SRW, 6.7, Crew Cab with Firestone Bags, Titan Disc Brakes
Rick and Mindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 12:06 AM   #9
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
I believe you can get to it through the compartment Known as "Dad's Tool Box".
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 01:03 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,324
On our RL access to the Converter is by removing the Curb side Rear Basement Bulkhead.
FYI, if you have all LED lites about the only time you'll hear the converter fan is right after moving the slides in or out, provided you connected to shore power.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.