Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2014, 11:15 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 323
Need some help with the furnace

Hello folks:

We are on our way south (but still in the cold north in Indiana!). The furnace stopped running yesterday, the thermostat calls for heat (and it works on A/C), I hear a click indicating that a signal is going to the furnace but the furnace fan doesn't come on to start the ignition sequence. Propane is OK and no 12V fuses in the fuse panel are blown (no red lights).

Before I hit an RV repair place is there any reset that can be done by opening up the furnace from the outside?
__________________
2013 Redwood 36RL, 2011 F-450, Sat Internet, Sat TV
almcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 12:51 PM   #2
TnB
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 79
Just in case you have air in your propane line, try your gas stove or gas water heater, to see if they work.
TnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 01:09 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
johnboytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,054
good point - test to see if other propane devices function...
__________________
Ours: '11 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT followed closely by '14 Jeep 4 dr Wrangler.
Hers: '13 Explorer Sport - AWD 365hp twin turbo scooter!
Previous: '13 Ford F350 CC Platinum and '13 38GK
johnboytoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 01:12 PM   #4
Site Team
 
hoosierguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by almcc View Post
Hello folks:

We are on our way south (but still in the cold north in Indiana!). The furnace stopped running yesterday, the thermostat calls for heat (and it works on A/C), I hear a click indicating that a signal is going to the furnace but the furnace fan doesn't come on to start the ignition sequence. Propane is OK and no 12V fuses in the fuse panel are blown (no red lights).

Before I hit an RV repair place is there any reset that can be done by opening up the furnace from the outside?

If the air is not completely out of the LP gas lines, when the furnace tries to start ignition, it will try 3 times. If no ignition, the control will shut down the furnace. You would then have to set the switch on your thermostat to OFF, then back ON. Before turning the thermostat ON, check your stove burners and ensure they are burning correctly. Also, check that the water heater burner will ignite.

I recently had a leak at the red single stage regulator on the passenger side tank and I could not get the stove burners to burn correctly or hot water heater to ignite. I had to replace single stage regulator. I have also had to replace both leaking pigtails in the past year.
__________________
Guy & Phyllis
2012 RW36RL,DualA/C,KodiakDiskBrakes,TrailAir Tri-Glide,GY_G614's,Mor/RydeSRE4000,HDShackles/WetBolts
2011Dodge3500Laramie,CrewCab,4x4,SRW,Michelins, LongBed,6.7LCTD,3.73,PullRiteSuper5th20.5KHitch, BlueOxBedsaver

hoosierguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 02:00 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
JohnEileen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 326
You can also have moisture condensation in the line and the line can freeze.
__________________
John & Eileen
2013 Redwood 36RL 2013 Ford 350 Diesel Lariat
Pittsboro, IN
JohnEileen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 06:53 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 323
Thanks for the suggestions folks!

I tried your suggestions without success, but I lucked out, I called an outfit called Marks mobile RV repair near Columbus Indiana after we pulled into a campsite in Columbus, they arrived in less than an hour.

Turns out the circuit board was toast, the furnace is back running again with a new board. I watched the re and re, the board is mounted to a bracket that screws onto the main fan, getting it out isn't obvious. Just in case I need to do it again!
__________________
2013 Redwood 36RL, 2011 F-450, Sat Internet, Sat TV
almcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 02:15 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
eltlenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
We are encountering this same thing tonight. We believe it is the circuit board but considering it is 8 pm and 26 degrees we need to finish inspecting in the morning. What furnace do you have? Ours is Suburban SF-42
__________________
2012 36RE
2013 Ford F350 Platinum
eltlenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 02:26 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 323
Our furnace is the same model as yours. Based on our experience it probably is a bad board.
__________________
2013 Redwood 36RL, 2011 F-450, Sat Internet, Sat TV
almcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.