Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-24-2021, 09:02 AM   #1

Question Onan propane Generator

I have a 2014 31sl and it looks like it is gen prepped. It has the display on the kitchen wall. with start switch and hour meter, Ipurchased onan propane 5500 to add. I found the generator start wires and need the color diagram for that. But more importantly,where is the the inverter to tie into located. Any thoughts or where I can find it would be appreciated, I am an electrician but not for rvs
All help is invited.
Texasted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2021, 02:27 PM   #2

Can't help with the wires, but I thing you mean the Transfer Switch to tie into as an Inverter has nothing to do with a Generator.
If you look behind the generator enclosure from the battery compartment you should see the transfer switch mounted on the back wall.
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2021, 07:46 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texasted View Post
I have a 2014 31sl and it looks like it is gen prepped. It has the display on the kitchen wall. with start switch and hour meter, Ipurchased onan propane 5500 to add. I found the generator start wires and need the color diagram for that. But more importantly,where is the the inverter to tie into located. Any thoughts or where I can find it would be appreciated, I am an electrician but not for rvs
All help is invited.
To add to M&As comments, unless you have a residential fridge or added an inverter you'll have a converter instead, neither have any direct connection to the generator, it must go through the transfer switch first.
Traded '13 GMC Denali DRW D/A
Currently rv & truckless