Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2013, 09:42 AM   #1
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
Has anybody bought an odometer for their trailer? And if you did what kind did you buy?
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:51 AM   #2
Member
 
jrgkfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 99


I don't have an odometer but i'm pretty anal about keeping records. Hand figure my fuel mileage at every stop and keep a notebook in the truck, easy to add up "towed" miles. 4600 and counting.
__________________
John & Kay
Cash,the dog
2018 GMC Denali 3500 DRW Crewcab
2013 Redwood 36RL Full paint D/W W/D 2 A/C's and all the other stuff.
jrgkfg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:57 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,534


Dave, haven't got one of those, but I do keep a spread sheet of all travels and length of time spent at each CG. So I know we havetraveled 8557 miles with our RW since picking it up at the end of April and spent 158 nites in it. I also log in any maintenance such as new tires, wheel bearing re-pack, Suspension upgrades etc. Works for me.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:03 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
rcflame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 619


I suppose a person could get a hubdometer with the right tire size and mounting bracket to fit the axle, but you may have to do away with the axle cover to mount it. I just keep track of my towed miles on a spreadsheet. We've done this ever since we went full time over 10 years ago. When we head out, we just right done the mileage when we leave, and again when we arrive at our destination. If we do happen to forget (which happens once in a while) I just use a mapping program to get the miles. This is as accurate as using some type of odometer since they aren't 100% accurate anyway.
__________________
Roger & Cheryl Full Time since 2002, RVing since 1975 2008 Chevy 3500 Crew Cab Dually, 2012 RW 36RL
rcflame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:44 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 325
I put on a Datatrac hub odometer on as soon as I picked up my trailer it came from RVedition.com you can look up a vidio at trailer life it cost $105.00 and I have checked it over 100 miles using mile post and GPS its dead on with no work I know exactly the miles on the RedwoodEdited by: Beechguyjim
Beechguyjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 07:10 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Grandpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 304
My F-350 keeps up with the mileage for me. Anytime the trailer is connected, it tracks the distance driven. You can enter the name of the trailer and it recognizes it when plugged in. Nice little feature.
__________________
Grandpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:41 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 325
Now that's cool.............(:
Beechguyjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:49 PM   #8
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandpa
My F-350 keeps up with the mileage for me. Anytime the trailer is connected, it tracks the distance driven. You can enter the name of the trailer and it recognizes it when plugged in. Nice little feature.
My truck might do the same thing...I guess I better read the manual.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:32 AM   #9
Site Team
 
hoosierguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave&Ginny
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandpa
My F-350 keeps up with the mileage for me. Anytime the trailer is connected, it tracks the distance driven. You can enter the name of the trailer and it recognizes it when plugged in. Nice little feature.
My truck might do the same thing...I guess I better read the manual.




That feature is really cool...........I hadnot heard of that.



Hey Dave, engineers and business people never read manuals!!



Guy

Electronics Engineer - RetiredEdited by: hoosierguy
__________________
Guy & Phyllis
2012 RW36RL,DualA/C,KodiakDiskBrakes,TrailAir Tri-Glide,GY_G614's,Mor/RydeSRE4000,HDShackles/WetBolts
2011Dodge3500Laramie,CrewCab,4x4,SRW,Michelins, LongBed,6.7LCTD,3.73,PullRiteSuper5th20.5KHitch, BlueOxBedsaver

hoosierguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 07:34 PM   #10
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379


Quote:
Originally Posted by hoosierguy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave&Ginny
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandpa
My F-350 keeps up with the mileage for me. Anytime the trailer is connected, it tracks the distance driven. You can enter the name of the trailer and it recognizes it when plugged in. Nice little feature.
My truck might do the same thing...I guess I better read the manual.




That feature is really cool...........I hadnot heard of that.



Hey Dave, engineers and business people never read manuals!!



Guy

Electronics Engineer - Retired
That's why I married a smart woman....she likes manuals......and points out every time I don't read them I think I'll hand her the manual and ask for a report......but first I have to do the dishes.

Edited by: Dave&Ginny
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:08 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
jlandon13399's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 202
My 2010 F250 diesel does not have this trailer milage feature. May have to move up to one of the big guys as a tow vehicle!!
__________________
Jack & Sheralyn Landon 2012 RW34SK 2010 F250 6.4L Diesel Crew Cab SRW W/Airlift Air Bags & Compressor Kit
jlandon13399 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:17 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Adamsvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 596


We have a 2011 F450 pulling our 2012 36RL and don't have the odometer for the RV either, at least I can't find it. Maybe I need to connect the RV to the truck and it will show up, maybe not.
Adamsvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:45 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
RollsRoyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 693
Send a message via Yahoo to RollsRoyce


You know you have more than 1 trip odometer...you have a tripA and a trip B nust keep your trailer miles on trip B and then right them down each time you disconnect and total them every so often or just keep a small trailer journal
__________________
Royce & Rachel Stanley
2008 F250 6.4 Diesel
6speed Auto SRW
RW36FB
RollsRoyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:49 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Adamsvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 596


Grandpa said itautomatically recorded the mileage of the RV when it was connected to the TV. I can't seem to find that feature on our F450.
Adamsvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:51 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
RollsRoyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 693
Send a message via Yahoo to RollsRoyce


Grandpa

Tell us more ab out your TV and exactly how your trailer odometer works
__________________
Royce & Rachel Stanley
2008 F250 6.4 Diesel
6speed Auto SRW
RW36FB
RollsRoyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 10:14 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Grandpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 304
My tow vehicle is a Ford F-350 shown in the photo below.

On the instrument panel between the tachometer and the speedometer there is a display screen. I assume most or all Ford F Series trucks have this screen. If you scroll through the menu you can enter the category "Truck Apps". Scroll right until you see the trailer information screen. If you haven't set up the name of your trailer you'll need to refer to the owners manual. I don't remember how I set it up off the top of my head. It's a nifty feature.
__________________
Grandpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 08:23 AM   #17
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
Yep....I found mine too. It's automatic
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 08:47 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Oriana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,257


It is available on TV with the optional message centre, which I believe is installed on Lariat & King Ranch models.

On the display screen highlight the truck icon (below fuel economy), it starts with an off-road screen, hit the right arrow and it takes you to the trailer screen. If no trailer is connected you will receive that message, press OK to enter the options. At the Change active trailer option, use up/down to select New Trailer from that sub-menu, press right arrow for the name input screen. Use the up/down arrows to select apha/numeric characters. Press the right arrow to move the cursor for the next character.

It takes some time, but definitely worth it.
__________________

Andy & Judi, Canine Companions Duke & Kona
2012 F350 Lariat CC SRW Airlift 5000 |2013 RW 36FL Winegard Trav'ler
Travel Blog: www.andyandjudi.com
Oriana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×