Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2017, 06:46 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 6
Question Lack of brakes on new 2018 3901WB

Just picked up our new unit the other day and driving from Cinci OH to Atlanta was a thrill as it doesn't appear I have any brakes on the unit. The unit has the MoRyde IS set up We are pulling it with a 2012 Ram 3500 Dually. Controller set all the way up to 10 on Heavy trailer setting. Didn't have issues with our old 2012 Bighorn with drum brakes.

Any help will be greatly appreciated as we will be leaving Atlanta heading to Dallas in a few days.

Does the tow/haul need to be switched on to for the brakes to work?

I have felt the Hydrastar brake actuator and the box felt warm not sure if that should be. Any thoughts? When I pull the release pin box safety break away cable the trailer brakes lock up the trailer. That's when I get a crazy noise at the axles and the box get's super hot. Rolling at a low speed I don't seem to get any trailer braking at all. Could it be a problem with the Hydrastar?

What else could be wrong or should I be doing something more?

Looking forward to learning more from you experienced Redwood Awesome Owners!!!! Make it an Outstanding Day!!!
Piercebld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2017, 07:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
travelin' texans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,400
I don't have a Ram, hopefully some who do will chime in. But the question on the tow/haul I can answer, no it has nothing to do with the trailer brakes but I would highly recommend using it anytime you're towing, it adjust shift points & works in conjunction with the exhaust brake if your truck is equipped with one.
__________________

Danny & Linda
Fulltimers since 2008
2013 Denali 3500 drw 4x4 d/a
2013 RW 36 FB black & tan
travelin' texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2017, 11:07 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
ET156's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 106
I did not have any brakes when I picked in my 39mb in 2016. got it home and removed the tires and hub and found that they were not adjusted correctly. after I did the adjustment brakes worked great and have ever since. You don't need to remove the tires like I did. take a flash lite under your rig and find the rubber grommet on the dust cove @ 6 o'clock. When you adjust the brakes look in the little hole @ 9 & 3 o'clock with the flash lite and you will be able to see if your turning the adjuster in the right direction . I used a pint can opener that I got @ home depot it worked better than the screw driver. Hope this helps you.
__________________
Ed & Annie full timers
2016 39MB
1998 International 4700LP ,DT530,330hp 6sp. auto ,air ride https://www.redwoodowners.com/attachments/signaturepics/sigpic1866_1.gif[/IMG]
ET156 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 12:19 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by ET156 View Post
I did not have any brakes when I picked in my 39mb in 2016. got it home and removed the tires and hub and found that they were not adjusted correctly. after I did the adjustment brakes worked great and have ever since. You don't need to remove the tires like I did. take a flash lite under your rig and find the rubber grommet on the dust cove @ 6 o'clock. When you adjust the brakes look in the little hole @ 9 & 3 o'clock with the flash lite and you will be able to see if your turning the adjuster in the right direction . I used a pint can opener that I got @ home depot it worked better than the screw driver. Hope this helps you.
It sounds like he has disc brakes. To the OP, good luck dealing with Colerain on any mechanical problems.

Mark
__________________
2013 36RE, 2008 GMC 3500CC DRW
markw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 12:26 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,022
Don't know about Rams, but with GMs (2011 to 2015 or 16)they require the CAM Module installed to fake out the built in controller into thinking it's dealing with standard electric brakes. RWs with factory Disc brakes don't come with the CAM module. I was lucky when we picked up our 39MB that I was carrying a spare CAM which I installed before leaving the Dealer.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2011 Chevy 3500HD Ext Cab DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" GY114s w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 01:31 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Piercebld View Post
Just picked up our new unit the other day and driving from Cinci OH to Atlanta was a thrill as it doesn't appear I have any brakes on the unit. The unit has the MoRyde IS set up We are pulling it with a 2012 Ram 3500 Dually. Controller set all the way up to 10 on Heavy trailer setting. Didn't have issues with our old 2012 Bighorn with drum brakes.

Any help will be greatly appreciated as we will be leaving Atlanta heading to Dallas in a few days.

Does the tow/haul need to be switched on to for the brakes to work?

I have felt the Hydrastar brake actuator and the box felt warm not sure if that should be. Any thoughts? When I pull the release pin box safety break away cable the trailer brakes lock up the trailer. That's when I get a crazy noise at the axles and the box get's super hot. Rolling at a low speed I don't seem to get any trailer braking at all. Could it be a problem with the Hydrastar?

What else could be wrong or should I be doing something more?

Looking forward to learning more from you experienced Redwood Awesome Owners!!!! Make it an Outstanding Day!!!
I have 2013 Ram 3500 dually. My built-in brake controller works well stopping my 2015 38RL with factory discs. But I had some significant brake issues....
1. No, you do not need to have the tow/haul button set for the brakes to work.
2. Does the truck "see" the trailer? Ie., does it says it is connected when you look at the brake controller screen?
3. Have someone step on the brake and listen to the actuator in the battery compartment. Does it make a noise? For how long? It should pump up the hydraulics and stop.

My 38RL's disc brakes were delivered with one of the brake lines cut too long. It made a loop near the right rear tire and rubbed against it. Eventually, it opened up a hole in the line and I lost all brakes between Knoxville and Asheville. I had no idea what the problem was.
Fortunately, my Ram had big discs and they were able to get us through the trip back home to Pinehurst. Stopped twice at Camping Worlds but neither wanted to look at it.
Ended up taking it to a Camping World in Garner, NC 90 min. from home once I found the problem. They told me it needed special brake lines that had to be ordered from Crossroads. After a couple months of them blaming the factory, I called directly and found you did not need anything special and any auto parts store could supply the line required. I finally got my rig back, but driving home I noticed there was no braking that I could feel. I took it to a truck repair guy, who crawled under the rig, disconnected the new lines and found them dry. Needed a quart of brake fluid to charge the lines again. Now it all works fine!!!!!!
So, check your brake fluid and make sure the lines have been bled. I believe you should hear something at the wheels when the actuator is pumping. Also, check to make sure the wiring from the 7 pin connector to the RV is correct.
Best of luck!
__________________
2015 38RL with MORryde IS, residential fridge, DW, washer and dryer, generator, and slide in slide. 2 A/C, 1 HP and a fireplace. Added 17.5 inch wheels. Follows a 2013 Ram dually diesel with 8' bed and Reese 20K.
RW Cal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 01:50 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 6
Thanks for the insights.

I know when we unplugged the safety breakaway we had noise at the actuator and the rear brakes. And I couldn't move the trailer at all.

Sounds like I need to look at the compatibility of the truck controller and grounding.

mhs4771 What is a CAM Module and were does it go and what how does it get connected?

Just read on the Hydrastar website though not to hold the brake pedal down for long period as in stopped traffic as it could overheat and ruin the actuator -- good luck traveling this week without hitting traffic, lol. Maybe I overheating it sitting for a wreck to clear. Wish I was told this by the dealer.

Tomorrow could prove interesting trying to get it fixed on a holiday weekend.
Piercebld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 02:48 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
xtasee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhs4771 View Post
RWs with factory Disc brakes don't come with the CAM module.
Mine did....
__________________
Larry, Stephanie and Dazee Park City, Utah
2017 31SL MaxxFan's, Hide-a Bed, Fireplace, King, 8K axles, Disc Brakes,17.5 Goodyear H tires, Filtration, Trail-air,BU Camera,5.5 Onan, Heated HT pads, 40lb bottles, Two Uniguard Awnings, Slide Toppers, 2000w PSW inverter
xtasee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 02:56 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
xtasee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 303
I second what Cal said about checking the wiring at the pin box. That is where my issue was and the truck could not see the trailer was connected. I hate to admit it but I drove mine for a year without the emergency brake working when you pull the pin.

When I changed trucks, my truck (GM) could not see the trailer. I spent hours and hours trying to find a problem with the internal controller in the truck. My Redwood left the factory with the wiring wrong. I found the problem in the junction box at the pin when tracing each wire.

I don’t know how RAM does theirs but GM trucks say “Trailer Connected” in the Driver information center. Until you see that, NO BRAKES. I connected to another trailer that had drum brakes and all was well with the truck.
__________________
Larry, Stephanie and Dazee Park City, Utah
2017 31SL MaxxFan's, Hide-a Bed, Fireplace, King, 8K axles, Disc Brakes,17.5 Goodyear H tires, Filtration, Trail-air,BU Camera,5.5 Onan, Heated HT pads, 40lb bottles, Two Uniguard Awnings, Slide Toppers, 2000w PSW inverter
xtasee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 03:16 AM   #10
Member
 
MuddFlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 60
I had a very similar experience. I picked up my ‘18 3901WB in June. I have a ‘17 Ram 3500. The problem was little to no brake fluid in the Hydrostar actuator,
resulting in air in the brake lines. Flushing (and bleeding) the brakes fixed the issue.

My RW has factory disc brakes an a Cam module was installed at the factory. The Ram doesn’t need the Cam, it will activate the brakes with or without it.

Like RW Cal said: Check your brake fluid level!

Also make sure your brake controller is set on “ heavy electric over hydraulic”

If you do have air in the brake lines and you want to bleed them yourself be careful. The brake fluid reservoir barely holds enough fluid to bleed one wheel at a time. You must refill after every bleed operation, especially if you get a lot of air.
__________________
2018 Redwood 3901WB Autumn Fire
3 A/C, Heat Pump, Dishwasher, Washer/Dryer, Disc Brakes, Onan 5.5kw

2017 Ram Longhorn 3500 Cummings/Aisin DRW LB CC and a cute little aftermarket fuel cap
MuddFlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.