Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2015, 02:13 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
ichabod123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 124
How do I boost shore power

Question for you electricians.
We may have to move into the RV before PGE gets power to the site. I am currently plugged in through a 200 foot run extension cord. This gives me the power I need to run the basic items but only 1 or 2 at a time. A lot of voltage drop.

Here is my question; Is there a way to still use the extension cord but boost the power with a generator? I dont want to back- feed the extension cord.

Does that make sense?
ichabod123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 02:45 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
You can reduce your voltage drop by running a heavier power cord. here is a link to see the wire required Wire Size Calculator

Other than that, they do sell voltage regulators for RVs but the 50 amp through camping world is $729
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 02:48 PM   #3
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by ichabod123 View Post
Question for you electricians.
We may have to move into the RV before PGE gets power to the site. I am currently plugged in through a 200 foot run extension cord. This gives me the power I need to run the basic items but only 1 or 2 at a time. A lot of voltage drop.

Here is my question; Is there a way to still use the extension cord but boost the power with a generator? I dont want to back- feed the extension cord.

Does that make sense?
When I run my generator, power does not run back through my power cord due to the switch box that was part of the Generator prep. If you're running a stand alone generator, feed back can happen.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 03:11 PM   #4
Site Team
 
piper guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,807
I would look for a 12 or 14 gauge cord in a Home Depot, Lowes or even on line.
The lower the gauge number the larger the cord.


Lacking that, I think I would be tempted to get some outdoor 12/2 and wire plug ends on it. I'm not an electrician and the standard disclaimer applies ~ if it goes wrong, I never said to do it.


Understand though, that you are never going to be able to run much on a 15-20a circuit.
__________________
Vaughan & Tracy 2013 RW 36RL, 2013 F350 DRW CC, 2016 Focus. MorRyde IS, MorRyde pinbox, disc brakes, Comfort Ride Hitch. "Life is to be embraced, Grab it with both arms ! "
piper guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 03:33 PM   #5
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
depending on what you're wanting to run, you can buy a 250 ft roll of underground 10/2 for around $160. I don't believe you'll be able to run the a/c due to voltage drop.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 04:48 PM   #6
Site Team
 
hoosierguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by ichabod123 View Post
Question for you electricians.
We may have to move into the RV before PGE gets power to the site. I am currently plugged in through a 200 foot run extension cord. This gives me the power I need to run the basic items but only 1 or 2 at a time. A lot of voltage drop.

Here is my question; Is there a way to still use the extension cord but boost the power with a generator? I dont want to back- feed the extension cord.

Does that make sense?

If you are connecting to a 15 or 20 Amp (120 VAC) source, it does not make any difference how large of an extension cable you use. The source itself is only capable of supplying enough current for a very few loads without tripping the circuit breaker. If you have to run 200 feet to the source, you should be using at least 10 gauge (or larger) cable to minimize voltage loss.

If you already have the generator (and the Redwood installed transfer switch), I would recommend you run the generator as much as possible. If you don't have the transfer switch, that Redwood installs as part of the generator prep package, I would recommend that you disconnect your extension cable, then connect your generator any time you need more power. Without the transfer switch, you cannot connect the generator at the same time as you are connected to shore power or you will burn up the generator.

If you have the option to connect to a 50 Amp, 240 VAC source, you could make up 50 Amp cable with 6 gauge (or larger) cable and 50 Amp connectors, but, you will likely pay a few hundred dollars.........might as well buy a generator.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Guy & Phyllis
2012 RW36RL,DualA/C,KodiakDiskBrakes,TrailAir Tri-Glide,GY_G614's,Mor/RydeSRE4000,HDShackles/WetBolts
2011Dodge3500Laramie,CrewCab,4x4,SRW,Michelins, LongBed,6.7LCTD,3.73,PullRiteSuper5th20.5KHitch, BlueOxBedsaver

hoosierguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×