Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2019, 03:33 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
Furnace Issues

we have a 2014 36rl. and when we purchased it a few weeks ago, the furnace worked. now that it's cold and needed, it won't come on. The fan don't come on. Can anyone help with this?
ricknnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2019, 09:17 PM   #2
Member
 
wintertree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 78
You need to do a little trouble .shooting... first are you plugged into shore power ?..do you have a battery monitor...(I believe the furnace will not function if your battery power gets to low.(11.7 volts)...when you turn up the thermostat do you hear a click from the furnace when you set the temp.higher ?....propane supply good.?...(range top burners fire up nicely).... a few things to start looking at...common problems are too low voltage...and poor / non functioning thermostats(internal.contacts in thermostat worn out or dirty )...give things a look...and get back to us...Wes
wintertree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 09:06 PM   #3
par
Senior Member
 
par's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 168
I had a similar problem several years ago and of course you only discover this when you need it. Basically this problem was intermittent. I have an extended warranty so I did not want to 'mess around' with this. Long story short the circuit board in the furnace had to be replaced.
__________________
2016 Silverado High Country 3500 Dually Diesel 4x4
2014 FL36
par is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 02:50 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
Thanks for responding....
ricknnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 12:53 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Dpskee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
It is cold in Texas so of course my heater/furnace stopped in the middle of the night. I am living in my rv and am located in a resort property. Everything electric is working except the furnace. Nothing happens when toggling the main breaker. No clicks or sounds when turning heat off or on or raising thermostat ( it is 54 degrees in here now.
I only know of one breaker box inside the pantry when you enter the rv.
If anyone can help I would appreciate it.
Are there additional breaker boxes I’m not aware of?
Dpskee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 04:15 PM   #6
Site Team
 
hoosierguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dpskee View Post
It is cold in Texas so of course my heater/furnace stopped in the middle of the night. I am living in my rv and am located in a resort property. Everything electric is working except the furnace. Nothing happens when toggling the main breaker. No clicks or sounds when turning heat off or on or raising thermostat ( it is 54 degrees in here now.
I only know of one breaker box inside the pantry when you enter the rv.
If anyone can help I would appreciate it.
Are there additional breaker boxes Iím not aware of?
If your coach has the electric fireplace, I would turn it on. It can do a good job in an emergency.

Relative to your furnace, you may need to call out a technician to check it. You don't show any information as to the year of manufacturing of your coach. In my case with our 2012 (built in 2011) Redwood 36RL, the furnace control board failed after 6 years. I am a retired engineer and was able troubleshoot the issue. But, I also found that the entire furnace had been installed improperly and I had to redesign the installation so that the furnace could be serviced properly. That is why I would recommend a mobile RV service technician with furnace experience check it out for you.

Hope this helps and good luck.
__________________
Guy & Phyllis
2012 RW36RL,DualA/C,KodiakDiskBrakes,TrailAir Tri-Glide,GY_G614's,Mor/RydeSRE4000,HDShackles/WetBolts
2011Dodge3500Laramie,CrewCab,4x4,SRW,Michelins, LongBed,6.7LCTD,3.73,PullRiteSuper5th20.5KHitch, BlueOxBedsaver

hoosierguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 04:54 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
travelin' texans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,905
Your furnace is powered by your 12 volt batteries so there will not be a breaker tripped, check your batteries. If you're RW is 4-5 years old it may time for new batteries.
Are you sure you have propane or has one emptied & you need to open the other bottle? Open the valves on the bottles slowly, if not the safety device thinks there's a leak & shuts off the flow. If sure you have propane you may want to close the bottle, loosen the lines til you hear a small bit of gas release, then reconnect & open them slowly then check all 3-4 burners on your cooktop at once to be sure you have gas flow.
The year & model of your RW would be helpful in giving good advice. If you go to the "CP" on the page header you can add that info in the "signature" drop down.
__________________
Danny & Linda
Former '13 FB owner
Currently rvless!
travelin' texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 06:28 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Dpskee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
It is 2015 and I had no idea that heat pumps switch to propane. Both 30lb tanks empty so that’s my next errand. In meantime I read about fireplace and was able to turn it up. I’m using small ceramic heater in bedroom on Low. Temp has gone from 53 to 69. So I’m ok and I’ll be better prepared next time we get below freezing. Texas has entered winter early!
Dpskee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 10:20 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
travelin' texans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,905
The furnace is gas, the heat pump is electric. Once indoor temp drops below your tstat set temp the heat pump will blow cold air & furnace will ignite to catch the temp up. The HP is not effecient at outdoor temps below about 40 degrees plus you need the furnace running to aid in keeping water lines from freezing as it blows warm air underneath. Your furnace only blows from floor vents & HP only from ceiling vents along with the air conditioners.
With empty propane bottles you'll have no furnace. As mentioned earlier when reconnecting the propane lines open valves slowly.
__________________
Danny & Linda
Former '13 FB owner
Currently rvless!
travelin' texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 05:28 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Jim & Mary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 629
Also, when reconnecting refilled propane bottle(s) use the large burner on the stove, assuming you have a gas cooktop to evacuate all air in the lines until propane gets to the stove and it will light. Then there should be gas present at the furnace and it should light on the first cycle.
__________________


Jim & Mary 2013 36 RL with Titan Disc Brakes Residential Fridge Goodyear 17.5 H rated tires MORryde IS, MORryde pin box 2015 Ford F350 King Ranch DRW
Jim & Mary is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 05:59 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
ok, so the mobile rv came out yesterday and said that it was the blower motor. at $249 for parts and $200 for labor... i guess it pays to know how to work on those kinds of things.. thank all of you for your input.
ricknnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 03:43 PM   #12
Site Team
 
hoosierguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricknnell View Post
ok, so the mobile rv came out yesterday and said that it was the blower motor. at $249 for parts and $200 for labor... i guess it pays to know how to work on those kinds of things.. thank all of you for your input.

That labor rate sounds about right. But, the motor price sounds high. I checked the price on Amazon for the price on the motor used in my coach (same model 36RL as yours) and the price is around $100.00.

Your furnace may be different than what is in mine.
__________________
Guy & Phyllis
2012 RW36RL,DualA/C,KodiakDiskBrakes,TrailAir Tri-Glide,GY_G614's,Mor/RydeSRE4000,HDShackles/WetBolts
2011Dodge3500Laramie,CrewCab,4x4,SRW,Michelins, LongBed,6.7LCTD,3.73,PullRiteSuper5th20.5KHitch, BlueOxBedsaver

hoosierguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 03:52 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
That's what i was thinking,,, the part was a little high, i think they all have the atwood furnace in them,,i think that was in the manual. Thanks for your reply.
ricknnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 04:27 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
XCMARK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricknnell View Post
That's what i was thinking,,, the part was a little high, i think they all have the atwood furnace in them,,i think that was in the manual. Thanks for your reply.

ours has a suburban furnace If I recall . Glad I can fix all these issues , the shameless bills some of these company write!
__________________
Mark & Melissa
2015 Redwood RL38 , Kodiak disk brakes , 17.5" tires , 8K Morryde IS
XCMARK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×