Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2014, 01:33 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 5
air

im in san jose and today it got to 101deg. since the park where I'm staying only has 30amp hook up , so can't run both airs and one doesn't do it .i guess a gen.?????????????????
kshifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 02:16 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 648
I can run both ac on 30 amp. Just can't run Micro, fireplace, Washer/dryer. All lights are LED and can still run TV.
__________________

Ron & Margaret
2014 Ram 3500 DRW 6.7, Aisin, 4.10
"Pequod" 2015 Redwood 38GK
Titan Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 02:48 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
johnboytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,054
How about moving to a different site / park ?
__________________
Ours: '11 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT followed closely by '14 Jeep 4 dr Wrangler.
Hers: '13 Explorer Sport - AWD 365hp twin turbo scooter!
Previous: '13 Ford F350 CC Platinum and '13 38GK
johnboytoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 03:43 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
It would be luck if you could run both, but try switching as much as you can to propane - (hot water heater, fridge) and shut down as much as you can.

Better plan would be to find a 50A site.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 04:42 AM   #5
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Titan Guy View Post
I can run both ac on 30 amp. Just can't run Micro, fireplace, Washer/dryer. All lights are LED and can still run TV.

I wouldn't recommend running more than 1 ac unit on 30 amp. Although they might start up...they will overheat.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 06:56 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 105
I was at a 30 amp only campsite a couple of weeks ago and ran both ac's with no issues. I have a surgeguard with the display each ac while running only pulls 12 amps each. Use propane for your water heater, don't use your microwave unless one is shut off, if you have led's like mine it doesn't matter how many lights you have on. Also I have the residential fridge have had no issues with it kicking on either. I don't see any issues with running it on 30amp as long as you are careful and don't turn on both ac's at the same time and they don't kick on at the same time.
__________________
2014 GMC 3500HD DRW Denali
2014 Redwood 38rl black & silver
Railcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 07:00 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave&Ginny View Post
I wouldn't recommend running more than 1 ac unit on 30 amp. Although they might start up...they will overheat.
I guess I don't understand, how would they overheat if they only pull 11-12 amps each? Also my display shows both legs and even with 30 amp it shows each of the ac's on a separate leg.
__________________
2014 GMC 3500HD DRW Denali
2014 Redwood 38rl black & silver
Railcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 02:55 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
johnboytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,054
Agree, in SOME perfect conditions I might try it....

but not really wanting to replace electronics and ac's if anything else pulls more juice and creates a brown out condition...
running may be 11-12 amps, but what is the startup draw ? say if it's 20 amps for one and both happen to startup at the same time - that's too much...

A long time go when dual airs first came out,
there were kits that you could buy that would ensure only one would startup at a time, and it would cycle the ac's to allow 30 amps only...
but not sure if that is still around...

I'm so careful with running ONE ac that I will turn on the fan first, let it get up to speed and then turn the ac on....
and to make the draw as consistent as possible will leave the fan on constantly so the startup draw is as minimal as possible.

YRMV, but imho, I would move to a 50 amp site
__________________
Ours: '11 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT followed closely by '14 Jeep 4 dr Wrangler.
Hers: '13 Explorer Sport - AWD 365hp twin turbo scooter!
Previous: '13 Ford F350 CC Platinum and '13 38GK
johnboytoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 03:57 PM   #9
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
The problem is.....although you might be hooked up to a 30 amp plug, if everyone in the campground is running their a/c units, you might not be getting 30 amps of power. I use a small cheep plug in device I bought years ago. This tells me if I'm getting enough amperage through the trailer. Many times in state parks on hot days, it's showing low amperage. With low amperage, the a/c units will start to over heat.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 04:49 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
rcflame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 619
Your voltage can also be affected. It kind of goes back to the formula, VxA=W. If the voltage drops too low because you are drawing more Amps that can be provided, your circuit boards etc. in some of your appliances can be damaged along with other items.
__________________
Roger & Cheryl Full Time since 2002, RVing since 1975 2008 Chevy 3500 Crew Cab Dually, 2012 RW 36RL
rcflame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 09:11 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
Just don't be the one the tries to run 2 ACs on a 30A service, and instead of blowing the breaker at the pedestal, you blow the breaker for the whole campsite loop... inside a locked cabinet.... on a holiday.... over 100 degrees

ahhemmmm - I can say you feel about as popular as the guy that didn't tighten the fittings on his sewer hose before he pulled the lever on the black tank
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 09:30 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
AlanN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by atom ant View Post
Just don't be the one the tries to run 2 ACs on a 30A service, and instead of blowing the breaker at the pedestal, you blow the breaker for the whole campsite loop... inside a locked cabinet.... on a holiday.... over 100 degrees

ahhemmmm - I can say you feel about as popular as the guy that didn't tighten the fittings on his sewer hose before he pulled the lever on the black tank
You sound as if you MAY have had many interesting and educational, uh, adventures. (Were you the guys responsible for the LA blackout of '96? No, wait, that was ME! LOL)
__________________
Alan & Angele
2014 RW 38GK, Curt Q24 Hitch.
2014 Ram 3500 crew cab dually. Knapheide low-profile Westerner utility body.
Full-timing starting in August, 2014
AlanN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 11:36 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 5
wish i could98 here so far , only a/c , if do 2 pops the circuit... only 30amp what the say anyway
kshifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 11:37 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 5
1 ac running
kshifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 11:41 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 5
yes , I've tried 2 doesn't work, ... clean place and we like it here and close to work
kshifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 12:02 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Foxfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 420
I just got to the camper for the weekend. I started up both air-conditioners at the same time. Each air-conditioner draws 17 amps on the start up. They drop the volts from 122 two 119 on each line. The volts come back and the amps drop down to 15 and 16. they would definitely blow 30 amp circuit
__________________
2014 31SL: 2014 F350 6.7 litre crew cab:
Steve & Gloria
Foxfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 04:24 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
JohnEileen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 326
I thought surge protectors only helped with lighting strikes and power surges. My husband said it also protects against low voltage and hot appliances. You electrical people...is that correct? We had a surge protector put on our RW before we brought it home.

John and Eileen
JohnEileen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 05:33 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Oriana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,257
We have the Surge Guard 50 amp built in and it protects against both high and low voltage - from memory I think it is 108 for low and about 130 for high.
__________________

Andy & Judi, Canine Companions Duke & Kona
2012 F350 Lariat CC SRW Airlift 5000 |2013 RW 36FL Winegard Trav'ler
Travel Blog: www.andyandjudi.com
Oriana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 01:08 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
AlanN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnEileen View Post
I thought surge protectors only helped with lighting strikes and power surges. My husband said it also protects against low voltage and hot appliances. You electrical people...is that correct? We had a surge protector put on our RW before we brought it home.

John and Eileen
There are some devices which only protect against a surge, such as might come from a lightning strike to the park electrical system or another failure. There are other devices which will regulate the incoming voltage, boosting it if it's too low (by "borrowing" from the amperage) and reducing it if too high. A few devices combine both functions. You should probably be certain of which you have. Hope this helps.
__________________
Alan & Angele
2014 RW 38GK, Curt Q24 Hitch.
2014 Ram 3500 crew cab dually. Knapheide low-profile Westerner utility body.
Full-timing starting in August, 2014
AlanN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 01:52 PM   #20
Site Team
 
hoosierguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanN View Post
There are some devices which only protect against a surge, such as might come from a lightning strike to the park electrical system or another failure. There are other devices which will regulate the incoming voltage, boosting it if it's too low (by "borrowing" from the amperage) and reducing it if too high. A few devices combine both functions. You should probably be certain of which you have. Hope this helps.
Also, some of the protections systems (especially built in units) have circuitry which monitors the voltage. If the voltage is outside a safe operating range, the power source is disconnected until the source voltage is back within a safe operating range.
__________________
Guy & Phyllis
2012 RW36RL,DualA/C,KodiakDiskBrakes,TrailAir Tri-Glide,GY_G614's,Mor/RydeSRE4000,HDShackles/WetBolts
2011Dodge3500Laramie,CrewCab,4x4,SRW,Michelins, LongBed,6.7LCTD,3.73,PullRiteSuper5th20.5KHitch, BlueOxBedsaver

hoosierguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×