Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2014, 10:32 PM   #1
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
Maintenance on Air Lift System

I know many folks on here have the Air Lift system on their tow vehicles. I wanted to share a solution to a problem should it arise.

My truck has 2 of these systems and a year ago I had problems with one of them. I tracked it to the modulator that tells the compressor to turn on and off. I called the factory and they replaced the unit. Now a year later and the same manifold stopped sending signals to the compressor again.

It was determained that the manifold was located below the compressor which meant the manifold was collecting moisture.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 12:37 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
homeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 522
Dave
Is your unit mounted inside the cab or outside?
__________________
Fulltimers? Loving our 2012 36RL towed by 2016 Ram 3500 DRW Longhorn Crew cab with auto level system.
homeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 12:55 AM   #3
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
Both systems are mounted outside.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 03:37 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 482
I could see moisture maybe being a problem with outside mounting. Mine is under the back seat in my CC.


Mark
__________________
2013 36RE, 2008 GMC 3500CC DRW
markw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 06:52 AM   #5
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
I might have to move mine into the bed of the truck and see if that helps. I already have too much under the seat of the truck and I wouldn't want the noise.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 05:11 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
Dave,
Doesn't the compressor bring in moisture, regardless of where the components are mounted?

On my last truck, the Dealer put a manual release valve in the dash which was convenient, but sometimes exhausting that air inside the cab was not the most pleasant smell It smelled like pulling the valve core out of your bike or car tire - kind of rubbery -blech-.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 04:33 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 482
Dave, your compressor should only run when the bags need aired up. Once up it shouldn't run anymore unless you have a leak. Your Kelderman might be different than just my AirLift bags though.


Mark
__________________
2013 36RE, 2008 GMC 3500CC DRW
markw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 04:21 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
That makes sense, except mine will need another 1 or 2 more compressor runs to settle down once rolling.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 04:33 PM   #9
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by markw View Post
Dave, your compressor should only run when the bags need aired up. Once up it shouldn't run anymore unless you have a leak. Your Kelderman might be different than just my AirLift bags though.


Mark

Mine does pretty good but must have some leaks somewhere. It will kick on each time I start the truck for a few seconds and then a couple of times a day when I'm pulling the Redwood. Like I said before, I have 2 different compressors and they each have a different sound so sometimes it sounds like they're trying to harmonize.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 04:45 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
johnboytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,055
Ours does the same... I presume it 'settles' when parked and will go 'brrppp' for less than a second when started...

Even noticed on the BIGGEST bumps that it will fool it a bit...
My guess is that it needs a LITTLE longer 'lag' time so it doesn't immediately fill if it senses a low air condition...

Maybe it's the electronics guessing it needs more air, then realizes it doesn't ?!?


but even with that - about my favorite thingy on the truck, especially with the wireless remote right by by knee !
__________________
Ours: '11 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT followed closely by '14 Jeep 4 dr Wrangler.
Hers: '13 Explorer Sport - AWD 365hp twin turbo scooter!
Previous: '13 Ford F350 CC Platinum and '13 38GK
johnboytoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 04:55 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
I was actually impressed that the remote setting is continuous - meaning it does an occasional handshake and corrects itself. I didn't know it would do that when I bought it.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2014, 06:03 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 482
I have the in-cab controller but not the remote, so mine only run when I add air.

Mark
__________________
2013 36RE, 2008 GMC 3500CC DRW
markw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 03:02 PM   #13
Site Team
 
piper guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,873
I have the wireless remote but not the auto-leveling option. I got tired of my compressor coming on when the rig was on an incline (sitting) and the sensor decided that it wanted more air.


I cut the grey trigger wire from the sensor to the compressor and wired it into one of the upfitter switches on the truck panel. Now, after I set the pressure I want, I turn off the sensor trigger and the compressor won't come on. When I need to change anything, turn on the switch, hit the remote and set the pressure.
__________________
Vaughan & Tracy 2013 RW 36RL, 2013 F350 DRW CC, 2016 Focus. MorRyde IS, MorRyde pinbox, disc brakes, Comfort Ride Hitch. "Life is to be embraced, Grab it with both arms ! "
piper guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2014, 08:19 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by piper guy View Post
I have the wireless remote but not the auto-leveling option. I got tired of my compressor coming on when the rig was on an incline (sitting) and the sensor decided that it wanted more air.


I cut the grey trigger wire from the sensor to the compressor and wired it into one of the upfitter switches on the truck panel. Now, after I set the pressure I want, I turn off the sensor trigger and the compressor won't come on. When I need to change anything, turn on the switch, hit the remote and set the pressure.
Ah -the gray wire If forgot you said that Vaughan.

I've ordered my second one and am putting it on the pin box air bag. Tired of dragging out air for that thing.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 09:17 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 377
Which AirLift do you have? The 5000 or the 5000 ultimate? And did anyone install them yourself?
__________________
Elliott & Vicky, and Sadie the GSD copilot
2014 36RE, Onan, Titan disc brakes, 17.5 inch Sailun H tires, lots of other options
2013 RAM 3500 CC, LB, DRW, Cummins, AISIN, 4x4
Elliott & Vicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2014, 11:35 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
I have the 5000 Ultimate and installed them myself. It wasn't very much fun. I have the factory hitch and had to grind down some of the 5000 nuts to get them to fit between the hitch bracket and the frame.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 12:14 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
johnboytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,055
No way - installs are a thing of the past for me

Camping world installed mine fro $39 if bought there - WELL worth it !!!
__________________
Ours: '11 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT followed closely by '14 Jeep 4 dr Wrangler.
Hers: '13 Explorer Sport - AWD 365hp twin turbo scooter!
Previous: '13 Ford F350 CC Platinum and '13 38GK
johnboytoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 07:23 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
GA1817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 373
I guess these air lift systems are only for FORDS?
__________________
Dean & Cindy (Go DAWGS)
2013 Ram 3500 CC DRW 4.10 "Plain Jane"
(RIP "Struck by Lightning")
B&W 3600 Hitch 25K/6.25k
2012 36RL, Disc Brakes, G614's, 7K axles, Combo WD, Awning Toppers
Full Time Since April 1 2015:)!
GA1817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 09:03 PM   #19
Site Team
 
piper guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,873
Well ~ no. For instance in my Dually, I don't need the AirLift for load carrying. When I hook the RW up the whole rig sits level. The airbags are used for suspension control and to stop the chucking and bottoming out when going over bad dips and bridge joints, etc.


Can't imagine having a fifth wheel tow vehicle without them. My buddy has a 2011 GMC and couldn't believe the ride in our rig. His wife asked him why they bounced off the seat over a bridge in their rig and the same bridge in ours barely ruffled the truck at all.


Guess who pur bags on the truck, ordered an air hitch and is scheduled at Mor/Ryde this spring ??
__________________
Vaughan & Tracy 2013 RW 36RL, 2013 F350 DRW CC, 2016 Focus. MorRyde IS, MorRyde pinbox, disc brakes, Comfort Ride Hitch. "Life is to be embraced, Grab it with both arms ! "
piper guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 05:26 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnboytoo View Post
No way - installs are a thing of the past for me

Camping world installed mine fro $39 if bought there - WELL worth it !!!
I had a 5th Airborne pinbox installed on my Montana at Camping World, to be followed by installation of a dome satellite antenna. I walked out of the store and saw one guy holding the pin box with a forktruck and two guys beating it into place with a sledge hammer. I cancelled any future installs.

Camping world installs are a thing of the past for me at any cost
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×