Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2014, 02:39 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 105
figures... that's how our luck goes

preface: we bought our 2012 36FL in Boise, ID last January... drove up there from CO and it was the coldest in Boise in 30 years for nearly a week... thankfully the dealer allowed us to hook up to their electric until the roads were safe for us to travel back.

Fast forward to this week: Scheduled our inspection at the service center... for today Jan 6th. traveled from PA on Saturday, between storms, to Topeka... haha coldest temps in 30 years and the service center is closed because of the weather! Thankfully we anticipated the snow/blizzard conditions and are staying in a motel. Just our luck
marandjwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 04:25 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,536
Is there some major work you're having done that required a return to the Service Center?? Annual inspection can be done any number of places.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 04:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 105
yes, we know...sort of major, rear window leaks and other minor issues but since we live in it fulltime for work, we didn't want a dealer to have it for weeks or more waiting on parts... at the service center, they get the parts ahead of time and in a much shorter time frame and would only have it for days and we were close. If we were in TX or CO we would have the inspection done by a dealer.
marandjwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 04:57 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 105
have returned from the service center after checking on the FL... filled propane to have enough on hand, bled it off at the stove top but now the furnace won't ignite and blower starts but furnace won't fire, it's windchill -28. Slides are in, kitchen drawers are out, fierplace is on, ceiling fan on to aide circulation, one heater in the kitchen one in the bathroom... hope it works... we are in a motel.
marandjwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 05:25 PM   #5
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
When it gets this cold the LP can freeze at the valve. I put a heating pad on the valve to help prevent this. Also after having you tanks filled, open the valves slowly. Otherwise, the safety valve will stop the flow of LP.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 06:20 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Adamsvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by marandjwr View Post
have returned from the service center after checking on the FL... filled propane to have enough on hand, bled it off at the stove top but now the furnace won't ignite and blower starts but furnace won't fire, it's windchill -28. Slides are in, kitchen drawers are out, fierplace is on, ceiling fan on to aide circulation, one heater in the kitchen one in the bathroom... hope it works... we are in a motel.
Agree with what Dave said. You also might want to turn down the fireplace as it sometimes fools the thermostat into recirculating the warm ambient air and not ignighting the furnace.
__________________
2012 Redwood RL with Slide-in-the Slide; 2011 F450; Onan 5.5 Gen; G614 Wheels
Adamsvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 06:24 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 105
the fireplace wasn't on until after the furnace wouldn't fire... fireplace and heaters were placed to hopefully prevent freeze up.
so can we close the tank, warm it up and open slowly now that it has potentially frozen?
marandjwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 06:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Adamsvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by marandjwr View Post
the fireplace wasn't on until after the furnace wouldn't fire... fireplace and heaters were placed to hopefully prevent freeze up.
so can we close the tank, warm it up and open slowly now that it has potentially frozen?

Something else to consider is you might have a bad pigtail to your tanks or a faulty regulator. One way to confirm this is to try lighting two burners on your stove.
__________________
2012 Redwood RL with Slide-in-the Slide; 2011 F450; Onan 5.5 Gen; G614 Wheels
Adamsvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 06:38 PM   #9
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
I would select the tank you want to draw LP from and warm up that valve. Like I said I used a heating pad on mine. You can buy large LP heating pads on the internet to be used in very cold conditions. You can also try taking that one tank inside and letting it warm up and then when you reconnect the tank, open the valve slowly. To check the tank after your reconection, fire up the stove top. This will also help bleed the air out of the line.

I realize that the government came up with this safety valve to help people but I've learn to hate working with them.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 07:05 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 555
We've found it takes longer to purge the heater and fridge lines even with the stove bleed. The heater however has a very short cycle and shuts the flow down until it cycles down, sits for an unspecified time and re-fires. Ours takes many tries before finally getting back to normal operation. We hope one of these many tips works. The SEVERE cold is not a RVers friend.
__________________
Jay and Linda
2013 36RL
Tobys Home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 12:39 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 52
I'm not sure the furnace in your Redwood is the same, but some of the ones in RV's shut down after failing to light 3 times. To reset it you need to turn off the power, then try again....

Keith
KWire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 01:00 AM   #12
Site Team
 
hoosierguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,301
I had an issue back in December with on the master control regulator not allowing LP to pass through from one tank. Finally resolved the issue by the following process:
SET THERMOSTAT CONTROL FOR FURNACE TO OFF
1. Disconnected both tanks.
2. Opened the kitchen stove controls so that all pressure went to zero then close controls.
3. Turned the master regulator control back and forth several times.
4. Re-connected both tanks.
5. Slowly open the tank valves.
6. Go to stove and open and light one burner at a time until all three burners are on.
7. Turn off burners.
8. Try to operate the water heater on LP by igniting the burner.
9. Set thermostat control to furnace or heat on.
This procedure worked to resolve the issue that I had. I hope it helps for you.

I should also say that this was a procedure that was proposed by "Mr. Bankdude" on the other Redwood forum.
__________________
Guy & Phyllis
2012 RW36RL,DualA/C,KodiakDiskBrakes,TrailAir Tri-Glide,GY_G614's,Mor/RydeSRE4000,HDShackles/WetBolts
2011Dodge3500Laramie,CrewCab,4x4,SRW,Michelins, LongBed,6.7LCTD,3.73,PullRiteSuper5th20.5KHitch, BlueOxBedsaver

hoosierguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 02:46 AM   #13
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
I agree with Guy and you might also try priming the furnace. You do this by turning on the furnace and turning it off in a few seconds. Do this 3 or 4 times.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 04:12 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoosierguy View Post
I had an issue back in December with on the master control regulator not allowing LP to pass through from one tank. Finally resolved the issue by the following process:
SET THERMOSTAT CONTROL FOR FURNACE TO OFF
1. Disconnected both tanks.
2. Opened the kitchen stove controls so that all pressure went to zero then close controls.
3. Turned the master regulator control back and forth several times.
4. Re-connected both tanks.
5. Slowly open the tank valves.
6. Go to stove and open and light one burner at a time until all three burners are on.
7. Turn off burners.
8. Try to operate the water heater on LP by igniting the burner.
9. Set thermostat control to furnace or heat on.
This procedure worked to resolve the issue that I had. I hope it helps for you.

I should also say that this was a procedure that was proposed by "Mr. Bankdude" on the other Redwood forum.
Definitely something you want to try BEFORE the adult refreshments start . A couple of Wyoming Whiskeys sterilizing ice cubes and I could really mess that procedure up.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 03:08 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 105
got it working yesterday... but lines were frozen with icicles hanging on the faucets. Service center is closed today also.... I am just sick sick sick!
marandjwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 03:53 PM   #16
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
You still might be ok. Did you pump the antifreeze into the lines? if not at least remove the water filter because that's the first thing that going to break.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 04:06 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 105
no, didn't antifreeze the lines BECAUSE we got here Sunday afternoon and it was SUPPOSED to be indoors at 7am Monday. We don't use the whole house water filter because it's a pain in the a$$ to change in the FL... didn't expect that the furnace would quite... my bad!
marandjwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 04:56 PM   #18
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
There use to be a cell phone that one of the service techs carried home with them for emergencies. Have you tried calling that number? I'm not sure if they still use it.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 09:09 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Adamsvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by marandjwr View Post
no, didn't antifreeze the lines BECAUSE we got here Sunday afternoon and it was SUPPOSED to be indoors at 7am Monday. We don't use the whole house water filter because it's a pain in the a$$ to change in the FL... didn't expect that the furnace would quite... my bad!

To make it easier, disconnect your water hose, do not turn on the water pump, and then run your blue outside water hose to relieve the pressure, open the small door to the water filter and turn the blue canister. It should be realitively easy to turn then.
__________________
2012 Redwood RL with Slide-in-the Slide; 2011 F450; Onan 5.5 Gen; G614 Wheels
Adamsvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 09:44 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 105
it's a pain to change because the access door is at the back of the basement, you have to take nearly everything out and such a small opening to be changing monthly... we are living in it in PA, the well water is high in sulfur.
marandjwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×