Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2012, 07:51 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
TravelinAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 539
I wanted to run the generator for awhile today so I fired it up and it seemed to switch over like it's supposed to. Problem is it's only powering half the trailer. When I turn of the generator and switch to shore power everything is normal.
I don't know enough about generators and transfer switches to troubleshoot it so if you do, I'd appreciate your input.
<div style="text-align: justify;">Onan Generator with a WFCO T-57 transfer switch<div style="text-align: justify;">50 amp service..
TravelinAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 08:14 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,434


Check the Genny itself, there are two breakers on the front (I think behind the front panel). Turn both off then back on and try the Genny again and see if that cures the problem. If not they may be a wire not tight in the xfer switch or a bad contact in the switch, but I would try the breakers on the Genny first.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 08:47 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Adamsvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 596
Make sure you disconnect from shore power before starting the gen. The circuit breakers, as noted above are probably the culprits.Edited by: Adamsvr
Adamsvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 11:32 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
TravelinAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 539
Thanks folks... I'll disconnect from shore power, check the breakers then try again on just genny power..
TravelinAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 09:12 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
TravelinAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 539
Checked the breakers this morning and discovered that the 20 amp one had tripped. Something on that circuit, dryer or rear air, must have been on when the transfer switch engaged.. maybe. Anyway, all is well and I thank you for your quick and accurate replies. This is what makes for a great forum.
TravelinAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:13 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 455
Travelling Andersons,

We had the same issue with one Genny breaker when my wife kicked in the hair blower while I was running the AC last month. Ginny breakers were hidden behind a wiring harness but I found them after reading the forum!


__________________
2016 F-350 Crew Cab 4x4 Dually Diesel, 2013 38BR Office config with all options and upgrades but Ceiling Fan and Ice Maker.
BradPAjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 04:24 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
RollsRoyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 693
Send a message via Yahoo to RollsRoyce


Is it necessary to disconnect shore plug as aome sort of precautionary measure when yo use your Ginny
__________________
Royce & Rachel Stanley
2008 F250 6.4 Diesel
6speed Auto SRW
RW36FB
RollsRoyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:54 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
TravelinAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 539
No.. The transfer switch does that for you.
TravelinAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 09:17 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
RollsRoyce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 693
Send a message via Yahoo to RollsRoyce


Thanks Steve, I thought that was the case but some of the recent previous post with breaker problems mentioned topull the shore plug.
__________________
Royce & Rachel Stanley
2008 F250 6.4 Diesel
6speed Auto SRW
RW36FB
RollsRoyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 09:38 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,434


It's not necessary, BUT if you were running the genny because the CG was having power problems and someone was working on it and for some reason the xfer switch malfunctioned or stuck contacts it could be possible to back feed genny power back into the CG power system and the worker wouldn't be too happy. Now granted that is something you hope wouldn't happen, but it is a possibility, especially with the "High Quality Parts" used. So I prefer to pull the AC plug to isolate the rig from the CG power grid, that's just me, you do what you feel comfortable with.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 12:32 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Lzybt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 9
2012 Redwood 36re for sale!
Absolutely loaded. Five months old. Moved one time.
I am the original owner and not a dealer. Due to health issues I must sell.
Located in Maryland. You can call me at 410-610-6296 if you would like to see it.


__________________
Redwood 36RE
Ford F350. 6.7 Diesel
Full timers
Lzybt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:42 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
TravelinAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 539
wow... I think that's one of the saddest posts I've read.. I paray it all works out for you and your's Lzybt
TravelinAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 07:52 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 555
We also wish you well and send our prayers.
__________________
Jay and Linda
2013 36RL
Tobys Home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 10:23 AM   #14
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
Sorry to hear of your problems. It may not be a bad idea to let everybody on this forum know all the details about the equipment, color and price since we have so many people talk to us about our rigs.

Maybe we sould have a page on here for equipment for sale
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 10:30 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
5th_Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,129
Probably attract more attention if you start a separate topic though.
__________________
Mike & Pam '12 36RL, Kodiak Discs, 17.5" G114s H-Rated, SRE4000 w/HD Shackles, Joy Rider Shocks, Flex Air, 5.5 Onan, W&D, DW, 4 Scare Lights, (2) 6V Trojan T-145s; Progressive EMS-HW50C, Winegard DTV Sat, Sony/Denon 4K Home Theater, WiFiRanger EliteAC Pack, weBoost 4G-X Cell Booster.

2020 RAM 3500 Limited CC, LB, 4x4, DRW, Cummins HO, AISIN, 4.10, Curt A30 w/OEM Prep, Transfer Flow 70gal Aux Tank/Toolbox.
5th_Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 11:27 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
TravelinAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 539
There is still a huge need for more topics on this board.... not to spam but don't forget about thorforums
TravelinAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 09:45 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Happy Camper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 429
Our Prayers to you lzybt. There for the grace of God go we. My sister and her husband recently had to give full time rving due to health. We feel you pain.

__________________
Happy campers - Kerry and Jere. 2010 Dodge 3500HD DRW with 5K ultimate airlift airbags and 2012 Redwood 36RE.
Happy Camper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 05:17 PM   #18
Member
 
Hoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 70
We looking to find out if anyone had a gennie added after they purchased their unit. Mine did not come with one and I am looking to have the factory install one next spring if I can. Any info on details and cost would be great.

Thanks
Rick and Kerry


__________________
2013 Redwood 36Rl Loaded with laundry dishwasher gennie 2 awnings etc. 2012 F-350 single axle diesel.

Hoistman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 08:42 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Rolly and Laurie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 20


Our 36RL is prewired for Generator. Through the forum feedbackand and our researchwe are looking at putting in a ONAN 5500 LPgenerator. We priced in Canada and it will be about$6000 just to buy the generator and have it shipped to Canada.Then installation on top. We are heading to Florida for the winterand are going to check out some options south of the border.
__________________
Rolly and Laurie
Chevy 3500, 36RL
Rolly and Laurie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 07:31 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
CampingCouple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 27
You can order from norwall power systems or generator direct for around 3400.00 and have it installed if you can't do it yourself for around three hundred.I just ordrered a 6500 lp and am going to install myself.Bought it from Norwall free shipping and check discount.
CampingCouple is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×