Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-03-2012, 03:20 PM   #1

Since the GVWR on my 36RE exceeds 15,000 lbs you have to have a Noncommercial Class A driver license in the state of CA to be legal in CA. Yesterday I went to the DMV in Rocklin, CA to apply for the license/permit. Since I already had an existing CA license for class C, which is your basic auto license, as well as a class M1 motorcycle license, I had to take the written test for class C, the written test for motorcycle and the written test for noncommercial class A trailers. Why all three are required I don't understand as my current license is still valid and I have been driving motorcycles and cars since 1975. After successfully passing all three written tests, plus the vision test, supplying my DL 546 Health Questionnaire and paying the $31, it took another hour for the DMV to figure out what permit they needed to issue me. There were 4 different people at the DMV trying to figure out what permit I needed. They told me that they hardly ever issue these? I told them they must be kidding as their are tens of thousands of people in CA with 5th wheel's with GVWR ratings over 15,000 lbs. First they wanted to give me a 5th wheel RV trailer endorsement on my class C license, but I pointed out to them that per their DMV book that is only good for 5th wheel trailers with GVWR below 15,000 lbs. Well I finally got my permit, but I am still not sure it is the correct one as it states I can pull my 5th wheel when accompanied by an adult with a valid CA class A license. Well, I am scheduled to take the pre-trip inspection test, the skills test and driving test next week in West Sacramento, yes you have to go to a specialized DMV location that does commercial CDL testing in order to get the license for my 5th wheel. Has anyone taken these tests in CA? How difficult are they? I was told the hardest test is the pre-trip