Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2012, 08:20 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Rodsmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
We owned a motorhome that had a self leveling system on it and I was able to level the unit with the slides out. We just took delivery of our 36RE Redwood and my question is; can I level the unit after the slides are out or do it before I extended the rooms?
Rodsmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 08:44 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
lillyputz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 467
I would level with the slides in.doing itwith the slides out is hard on the slides and the coach.





Lillyputz
__________________
36RE Redwood LEMON
lillyputz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 10:43 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,357


I believe the recommended procedure for a 5th Wheel is to level first, then deploy the slides. I usually try to connect water and sewer before putting out the slides so I don't have to crawl under a slide to make a connection.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 11:25 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
TravelinAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 539
After I unhook I just press the "auto level" feature on the system then connect the water, sewer and power while it levels itself. After it's level my DW will put the slides out and start getting things in order.
I have re-leveled the trailer a couple of times with the slides out and it didn't seem to have any effect on the leveling system.
TravelinAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 03:35 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
KR2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959
I would level the trailer first and then open the slide outs I would also be very careful about adjusting the level after you have the slide outs open.
__________________

"75 FEET OF FUN ON THE RUN"
KR2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 04:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,357


The way the Level-Up System operates, it prevents any twisting of the Frame, so although not recommended it shouldn't hurt anything releveling with the Slides out. We recently did just that. We had a jack that was leaking and had it replaced here on site, so with everything in place for daily living we didn't retract the slides. Just raised all four rear jacks, did the repair, then ran it through the auto level cycle with the slides still out. Went right back where it was and all has been good.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 06:31 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
TravelinAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 539

The Lippert Standard (V1) Level-Up manual states that leveling should not be done while the rooms are moving. It doesn't specify whether you can or can't do it after they have been extended. However, it does state that:
7. Once the rooms have been extended you can readjust the unit side to side and/or front to

back if necessary to maintain a level condition.
8. You can adjust any combination of jacks at any time to help keep the unit both level and stable
with or without the rooms be retracted.

The Automatic Level-Up System doesn't make any reference to the slides position during leveling.
Here's a link to the Automatic Level-Up System:
http://www.lci1.com/images/Flyers/Ow...c-leveling.pdf

Edited by: TravelinAnderson
TravelinAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 06:47 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
KR2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959
We were at the dealer looking at a 36fl and the sales person tried to level the rig with slides out and it did not do anything at all, we put the slides in and it leveled itself with the auto level button. After some research I can not find anything that supports what happened that day. It must have been a off day the leveling system.
__________________

"75 FEET OF FUN ON THE RUN"
KR2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 06:57 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Grandpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 304
We are learning alot from this forum! Thanks for the information.

Just picked up our 36RL on Saturday. Got it home and the Level Up did it's thing and worked like a charm. When we finished loading all of our stuff from our old unit and were ready to put it in storage, the posted instructions on inside of the cargo door said to push the left and right buttons at the same time to start the hook up process. When I did that, it said that "this function was disabled". I was able to pull the rear jacks up and re attach to my truck by using the retract button. Has anyone had an issue with the automatic retract? Has anyone seen the "function disabled" prompt on the screen?Edited by: Grandpa
Grandpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 09:13 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
sinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 506
Go into the settings mode by using the up and down arrows and enter button. You should be able to turn on the feature. My preference has been to use manual mode hook and unhook the rig. I like having full control of the landing jacks.
sinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 10:28 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Grandpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 304
Great! I'll give it a try. Thanks!
Grandpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 02:55 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
TravelinAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 539
I get the same message on our 36FL Grandpa... Think I'll try enabling it to see how it works.
TravelinAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 03:25 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Grandpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 304
I just spoke to a factory support representative. He said that if you park on a slight incline running from the back of the trailer to the front, when you unhitch you must raise the king pin above "level" before you hit the auto level button in order for it to return to it's original position when you're ready to hook up. If the leveling process starts when the king pin is lower than "level" it will display the "function disabled" prompt.

Makes sense to me!

Unfortunately, you can't enable or disable the function. It's automatic depending on the circumstances and terrain. There is a 5 page operation and service manual on Lippert's web site for some light reading if you get bored.
Grandpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 04:03 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
TravelinAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 539
Most of time, after I unhook and hit auto-level, the front of the trailer drops which indicates that it is higher than level. I've tried using the hitch height memory function when I go to hook up but get the "function disabled" message.
If I'm understanding right, the rep is saying the front needs to be higher than level before poking the "auto-level" button in order to enable the memory function.
So either I'm misunderstanding what the rep is saying or they are mistaken.
TravelinAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 08:07 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
sinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 506
That is why I have chosen to use manual instead of the auto level memory feature. I just like to really have full control when hitching and unhitching. For example your weight in the bed of the truck or the terrain may be different under the wheels of the truck then when you unhooked. Just backing in at a different angle can change the height of the hitch plate in some sites. My suggestion is to learn how to operate manual mode just in case.
sinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 08:45 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
TravelinAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 539
I'd like to see how well it does in memory mode. Even if it's not perfect, it should get you close enough that a minor adjustment up or down should get you where you need to be.
I and others already use the manual mode to adjust the pin height when we hook up but if one of the selling features of the Level-Up system is the ability to automatically set the pin height to the level it was when you unhooked, why not use it?
TravelinAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 04:28 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
KR2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959
This is not a new feature some other manufacturers utilize this on there leveling system's like travlinanderson said if it is there why not use it but is a very good idea to know how to use the manual features as well. I have used other brands and I like the feature I curious how this system is going work and see how reliable it is.
__________________

"75 FEET OF FUN ON THE RUN"
KR2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 07:52 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Happy Camper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 429
We picked up our 36RE last Friday and have hooked and unhooked 5 times since. I used the manual side for unhooking and hooking. I used the auto level for the rest and it has worked well. Only time will tell how it holds up.

__________________
Happy campers - Kerry and Jere. 2010 Dodge 3500HD DRW with 5K ultimate airlift airbags and 2012 Redwood 36RE.
Happy Camper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 05:54 AM   #19
Junior Member
 
Rodsmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks to all you fine people for the info. When I first hit the "auto level" button (with the slides out) the unit pulled the tires off the ground on the door side, so I thought the rooms had to be in. I ended up having to level the unit manually. Don't know if I have an issue with the leveling sytem or not. Thanks again for the help. Happy camping!
Rodsmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 01:59 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Happy Camper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 429
Has anyone had or is having any issue with the jacks not holding pressure and making popping sounds?



__________________
Happy campers - Kerry and Jere. 2010 Dodge 3500HD DRW with 5K ultimate airlift airbags and 2012 Redwood 36RE.
Happy Camper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×