Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2012, 01:29 PM   #1
Member
 
gfshaffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 31
I have a four door Dominic Refrigerator in my 2012 Redwood. I am concerned as the doors do not seem to seal tightly. The refrigerator holds a temperature, but when I open a door, there is no resistance as if I am breaing the seal, and when I shut the freezer, I have never had a vacuum created that would make the door diffi to open for a few seconds. The dealer actually sent me a set of new seals, but that did not seem to help. Is this normal on this type of refrigerator?
__________________
Gary
gfshaffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 04:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,259


Gary, The test is to insert a Dollar Bill between the door seal and close the door. If the bill pulls out easily there's a problem, if you feel resistance while pulling on the bill you're good. I would try this at numerous places on both the fridge doors and the freezer doors. Hope this helps.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" GY114s w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 04:50 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
KR2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959
Do you notice any condensation around the doors at all? If you do not have any condensation you are fine.
__________________

"75 FEET OF FUN ON THE RUN"
KR2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 07:02 AM   #4
Member
 
gfshaffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 31
I will give it a try. Thanks.
__________________
Gary
gfshaffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 07:03 AM   #5
Member
 
gfshaffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 31
I have not noticed any condensation, but the fan seems to be running often, and I did notice that the freezer is strating to build up some ice sooner than I expected.
__________________
Gary
gfshaffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 12:57 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
KR2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959

Quote:
Originally Posted by gfshaffer
I have not noticed any condensation, but the fan seems to be running often, and I did notice that the freezer is strating to build up some ice sooner than I expected.
the fan will run a lot even more so when it gets hot outside and the building of ice in the freezer is attributed to the humidity level and how many times the door is opened either way these issues are not to be worried about they are normal.
__________________

"75 FEET OF FUN ON THE RUN"
KR2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 03:32 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Buddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 514
While boon-docking does the Refrig. use much propane?
__________________
2012 Ford F450 Lariat FX4 dually, 2013 Redwood 36FB Red and Black Painted
Buddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 05:22 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Buddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 514
When switching from 120V shore power to the 12V truck power will the refrigerator automatically make the switch?
__________________
2012 Ford F450 Lariat FX4 dually, 2013 Redwood 36FB Red and Black Painted
Buddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 05:37 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Buddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buddy
When switching from 120V shore power to the 12V truck power will the refrigerator automatically make the switch?
The reason I ask is my last trip I traveled the 3 hours with the propane on, however some people say it is dangerous and I should be able to run the refrig on 12 Volts. Camping World shows my unit pulling 5.5 amps on 12V.
__________________
2012 Ford F450 Lariat FX4 dually, 2013 Redwood 36FB Red and Black Painted
Buddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 05:38 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
5th_Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,113
I think the Norcold will switch over to LP when you disconnect AC if you have controls set to AU. I don't think there is a DC mode. Only AC and LP.
__________________
Mike & Pam '12 36RL, Kodiak Discs, 17.5" G114s H-Rated, SRE4000 w/HD Shackles, Joy Rider Shocks, Flex Air, 5.5 Onan, W&D, DW, 4 Scare Lights, (2) 6V Trojan T-145s; Progressive EMS-HW50C, Winegard DTV Sat, Sony/Denon 4K Home Theater, WiFiRanger EliteAC Pack, weBoost 4G-X Cell Booster.

'18 GMC Denali 3500HD CC, 4x4, DRW, DuraMax, Allison, Curt Q25 w/OEM Prep, Intellihaul Cameras, Transfer Flow 70gal Aux Tank/Toolbox.
5th_Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.