Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2019, 05:04 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 7
Blank Thermostat

Hello everyone,

I have a 2013 38GK.

I tried turning on the main A/C for the first time this year and as I was adjusting the temperature on the thermostat I heard a little click from the thermostat then it went blank. I checked the fuse in the thermostat and it's good. I turned all the breakers on and off and checked for power and loose connections at the breakers, everything is good. I checked all the 12v fuses and the are all good. I pulled the thermostat and all the connections are fine. Checked for power and getting 2v.

The thermostat is completely blank so no A/C, no heat pump and no furnace.

The a/c in the bedroom is working fine.

There has to be a transformer somewhere for suppling the t-stat with low voltage anyone know from where? Since it's going to both the A/C and furnace I'm not sure which one to check.

I would really like to hear what you seasoned experts think the problem is before I proceed.

Any help would be appreciated.
Happycampper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 05:24 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Jim & Mary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 587
My thermostat documentation shows primary voltage is 12VDC so it gets it straight from battery voltage (through a fuse) If you are really getting 2V only that's a problem you have to find the reason for. When we had trouble with awning power, I saw no blown fuse indicators in the power panel, but turns out the fuse was blown.
__________________


Jim & Mary 2013 36 RL with Titan Disc Brakes Residential Fridge Goodyear 17.5 H rated tires MORryde IS, MORryde pin box 2015 Ford F350 King Ranch DRW
Jim & Mary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 06:07 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 7
I guess getting 12v to the t-stat directly makes sense. I am used to residential HVAC where the t-stat gets power from the equipment. I am getting 12v after all the fuses in the panel. Could there be a hidden fuse elsewhere? I think that if I could figure out why I'm not getting the 12v it will solve my problem. Thanks.
Happycampper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 06:19 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Jim & Mary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 587
I have two suggestions
1. There may be an internal thermostat fuse........that bears checking
2. I would make sure all wiring connections for the 12V circuits in the right side of the power panel are tight. That includes the negative side of the 12V circuit. You could have a wiring break in the neg 12V side as well. Take off the big switch panel (where the slide switches, pump switches, etc. are) and see if you can see loose wires in wire nuts, etc. I know it's a PITA, but most of these problems are.
__________________


Jim & Mary 2013 36 RL with Titan Disc Brakes Residential Fridge Goodyear 17.5 H rated tires MORryde IS, MORryde pin box 2015 Ford F350 King Ranch DRW
Jim & Mary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 06:21 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 7
Quick update... I removed the red (power) wire from the t-stat and checked for voltage and I am in fact getting 12v. With the red wire connected to the t-stat I am getting 2v. I am now suspecting a faulty t-stat. The fuse in the t-stat is good.
Happycampper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 07:42 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
r time soon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 565
Not doubting that the fuse tested good, but did you remove it from the thermostat and check for continuity? I recently had issues with our 2012 36RL. Thermostat had blank screen. Fuse was blown. Installed another fuse and it blew almost immediately. Ended up I had issues up on the air conditioner on the roof that was causing the fuse to blow.
__________________
Chris & Maria


2012 36RL, Full Body Paint, Dual Awning, Dual a/c, Splendide Combo, Fisher Paykel dishwasher, 6.5kW Onan, Goodyear G614's. 2015 F550 6.7l, 4X4, Lariat, CC, 176" WB, Long Box, B&W Companion
r time soon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 07:53 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 7
Yes I remove the fuse and tested it. It is good unfortunately. Does anyone know what size (how many amps) this fuse should be?
Happycampper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 09:24 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
r time soon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 565
For my Coleman Mach or Airxcel the fuses are 2 amp.


We have 2 model 48254B879 A/C's


Main thermostat is for cool and heat, controlling the furnace as we don't have heat pumps.


Bedroom thermostat is cool only.
__________________
Chris & Maria


2012 36RL, Full Body Paint, Dual Awning, Dual a/c, Splendide Combo, Fisher Paykel dishwasher, 6.5kW Onan, Goodyear G614's. 2015 F550 6.7l, 4X4, Lariat, CC, 176" WB, Long Box, B&W Companion
r time soon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 10:08 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
XCMARK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 188
I had a similar issue with my tStat , I found the contacts on the slide switches must have got some corrosion in the slide switches , guessing the contacts have grease or they are silver plated . the grease gets hard over time and the contact cant move the grease to get to metal or the silver tarnished. End result I sprayed silicone lube in the switch and worked it back and forth fast for about 20 seconds each . becarful to not get the spray on wood or the plastic outside cover it may stain it. Problem solved , maybe it was good luck but your maybe the same fix. I gave it a good 2 second blast of spray on each side of the switch body ( both switches)
__________________
Mark & Melissa
2015 Redwood RL38 , Kodiak disk brakes , 17.5" tires , 8K Morryde IS
XCMARK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 10:23 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 7
I will certainly give that a try, Thanks
Happycampper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.