Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-26-2014, 12:46 PM   #1

Don't assume both front landing feet are down

I am still learning about fifth wheel hitching/un-hitching. I had a near disaster the last time we went camping. It was dark by the time we arrived and when I put the landing gear down I could see the foot on the drivers side and when it made contact I heard the pump noise change and thought I saw the truck lift. When I starting pulling forward my wife yelled stop as the coach was slowly falling. It stopped just as it made contact with the truck. I raised it up and finished pulling out. There was no damage to truck or coach. I verified what happened when we got home and un-hitched. The passenger side foot doesn't extend till pressure from the drivers side sends hydraulic fluid to it. So not knowing the foot wasn't down when I pulled out the pressure equalized between the feet as the coach "fell". This was a valuable lesson to me to 1. make sure both feet are down, and 2. make sure load is really off the truck before I pull forward. Hope no one else ever has this happen to them
robkathybat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 12:49 PM   #2

Valuable lesson, glad there was no damage!!
Old 10-26-2014, 01:01 PM   #3

Our previous SOB 5er had a Electric Driven landing gear and both legs were always down together.
On our new Redwood we have the same condition except fortunately as of yet I have not pulled the truck forward with only one leg down.
I have noticed the driver side leg goes down first (the one I can see from the Level Up Panel) then the passenger side leg.
I always have to look and make sure both legs are down and supporting the weight of our 5er before unhitching.
17.5 Goodyear G114's, RV Armor Roof
2018 RAM 3500 DRW, Curt Q24 Hitch

rob_fla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 01:39 PM   #4