Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-30-2019, 01:19 PM   #1

Do I need to level this up?

I'm new at all this. It seems to tow just fine so far, but I didn't really notice how low it was in the front until I walked away from it in a really big empty lot. I have some room to raise the hitch up. Not sure it will be enough though.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190423_165821.jpg (164.4 KB, 97 views)
glenwolde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2019, 06:39 PM   #2

Send a message via AIM to Shane Wood Send a message via MSN to Shane Wood Send a message via Yahoo to Shane Wood
Quote:
Originally Posted by glenwolde View Post
I'm new at all this. It seems to tow just f3ine so far, but I didn't really notice how low it was in the front until I walked away from it in a really big empty lot. I have some room to raise the hitch up. Not sure it will be enough though.
You do look low on the fro t. Also it looks like you could use more bedrail clearance. How many inches do you have from the top of the bedrail to the bottom of the trailer. You can raise your hitch up and also lower the pin box on the trailer to help raise it up.
Airbags on the back of the truck will also lift it a couple inches as it looks like the truck is low in the rear
Old 04-30-2019, 10:49 PM   #3

you want 6~8" bed rail clearance at bare min. I have a soft tonoe cover that has 1" rails that clamp on the top of the factory bed caps. With 5 1/2" clearance and a mild grade change I could have the trailer belly touch the bed rails . I raised the hitch up 2" and it sits under the soft cover but high enough that I can leave the hitch in year round covered when not in use. check the owners manual for the hitch you more then likely have 3"+ you can raise the head to gain the necessary clearance and level the trailer. I would say 2" is about right to raise it.
Old 04-30-2019, 11:53 PM   #4