Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-10-2016, 06:06 PM   #1

Auto Leveler Question

So I am still a little new to having any 5th wheel. I have had my new rig out to a couple of different parks that were all fairly level to begin with.

My driveway at home slopes down a little from the street to the house. It is not steep but not insignificant either. I will back the unit in. This will have the rear low and the front high with a tilt to the right.

I had a motorhome before that I would pull in the other way (front low). I put blocks under the leveler pads and it would raise the front tires of the coach off the ground about 3". No problem as the park brake is works on the rear wheels.

I think one of the advantages of the 5th wheel will be that the front can be lowered almost to the ground as part of the leveling strategy. The MH did not have lowering capability.

Here is a couple of questions. Assuming I lower the front manually first, then use the Auto Level, will the system use the low front jacks as part of it's program? The reason I ask is that would make much more sense than raising the rear to the point where the right rear jack possibly run out of travel.

Can I use a block under the right rear Jack Pad to help give it a couple more inches of travel?

Thanks for the help.
Old 06-10-2016, 06:28 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtasee View Post
So I am still a little new to having any 5th wheel. I have had my new rig out to a couple of different parks that were all fairly level to begin with.

My driveway at home slopes down a little from the street to the house. It is not steep but not insignificant either. I will back the unit in. This will have the rear low and the front high with a tilt to the right.