Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-31-2019, 02:53 AM   #1

Soon to be Full timers !

Greetings all ! We are two weeks away from picking up our new to us 2014 38RE...We have been looking for a trailer for some time and finally found one close to us here in Alberta Canada....We would have had it by now but upon inspection I found some water damage under the bed room slide in the slide floor....the dealer agreed to have it fixed (properly)....other than that I am happy with the unit...(Don't worry....I was an RV tech for years and the repair will be done right by the dealer!)...As our climate here is extreme the trailer was used for a few weeks a year then stored in a large building at a farm........Our farm is being sold and we should be out at the Canadian West Coast (Vancouver Island) some time later 2019 where we will be living full time in the Redwood.. Big change for us....but we are looking forward to it as life up till now has been mostly work...Thankfully we have had some fore thought and when we replaced one of our trucks, we did so with a dually turbo diesel....this will be moving the 38RE around for us....Any info about full timing in these rigs is welcome !
Wes
wintertree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 08:56 PM   #2

Wes , welcome aboard! Glad to hear your dreams are becoming real, I am sure you will enjoy your time out on the road and meeting new friends .

as far as the truck is concerned unless you have rear air ride already put a set of airbags in the truck and regardless if the truck is new replace the rear shocks with Bilstein's 4600 or Rancho Rs9000X. Hitch wise I would suggest you get a trailer saver or some type of hitch that has a means or absorbing road shocks. then if your tow a lot of miles consider morryde independent suspension.
http://www.comfortridehitch.com/index.html

http://www.morryde.com/products/87-i...2F4-suspension