Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2020, 03:23 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Ford truck guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,999
Fridge outlet only works on inverter

My residential fridge is only working via the inverter now...
I am plugged into 50 amp, if i turn off the inverter, the fridge shuts off...

Ideas? Bad inverter? Bad wiring?
Joe
Ford truck guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2020, 02:17 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,532
Joe, don't know what RW is using for an Inverter in the new units, but some on the Montana forum have reported of a GFI or Circuit Breaker on the AC side of the Inverter.
Something to look into.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2020, 12:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Ford truck guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,999
Thanks Michelle,

I am away from the Redwood till this Friday but I did look for a breaker on the unit and did not see any,

It is a Freedom X Sine Wave Inverter # 806-1212

I have the booklet with me and plan to call them today and get some ideas....

I am stumped.... I BELIEVE that this inverter operates that 1 outlet ONLY, and with that I ASSUME it is a direct run with no junctions.. AND since it is fine on invert, that tells me the wire between the inverter and outlet is ok ?????

Joe
__________________
2020 F-350
2020 3991RD with-
17.5 Goodyear 114's , Titan Disc brakes, MorRyde 8K IS, Onan 6.5..
Ford truck guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2020, 07:42 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Jim & Mary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 682
Joe

There should be some kind of transfer relay to allow switching between shore power 120VAC and inverter 120VAC. Your documentation should tell whether that's internal to your inverter or external. Sounds like the switching when you're connected to shore power isn't happening. Our Xantrex inverter does it internally.
__________________


Jim & Mary 2013 36 RL with Titan Disc Brakes Residential Fridge Goodyear 17.5 H rated tires MORryde IS, MORryde pin box 2015 Ford F350 King Ranch DRW
Jim & Mary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2020, 09:40 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Ford truck guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,999
Thank You Jim,

I have looked at the booklet several times and cannot find any info, as that was my first thoughts..

I did call Xantrex this morning, but they were closed to day for Columbus Day..

Joe
__________________
2020 F-350
2020 3991RD with-
17.5 Goodyear 114's , Titan Disc brakes, MorRyde 8K IS, Onan 6.5..
Ford truck guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2020, 11:11 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,532
We have the Magnum Inverter/Charger with a built-in transfer switch. I even wired into the 120 VAC output and added another outlet in the basement to plug in our portable freezer to keep it running when traveling.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 01:11 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
XCMARK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 335
My guess is the 120 volt AC power that feeds the inverter doesn't have any power. It has 12vdc power so that is why its running on the inverter.

You could power down the DC side and the AC side and restart it if you have tested the 120v input side.
__________________
Mark & Melissa
2015 Redwood RL38 , Kodiak disk brakes , 17.5" tires , 8K Morryde IS
XCMARK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 12:42 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Ford truck guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,999
I called Zantrex, a local Inverter repair/supply co, and Redwood...

They ALL 3 agree that it could be only 1 of 2 things...

1- check Battery voltage... was showing 13.8 on my phone, but am taking a meter back with me Friday to double check that.

2 - the Internal bypass is stuck in the inverter... Told me to shut off inverter and plug into shore power.. I SHOULD have 120 coming off the output side..If not the bypass is bad and inverter needs replacement.

#2 is what the are assuming....
__________________
2020 F-350
2020 3991RD with-
17.5 Goodyear 114's , Titan Disc brakes, MorRyde 8K IS, Onan 6.5..
Ford truck guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 01:20 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Jim & Mary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 682
Joe

I looked at your model # owners manual and it confirmed your unit has a built in transfer relay. It is programmable, but only for how fast it transfers, not whether it transfers or not.
__________________


Jim & Mary 2013 36 RL with Titan Disc Brakes Residential Fridge Goodyear 17.5 H rated tires MORryde IS, MORryde pin box 2015 Ford F350 King Ranch DRW
Jim & Mary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 04:35 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 21
Inverter

I have vast experience on houseboats with inverters. They can be sneaky. I strongly suggest getting a remote control for your unit. Run the remote control lead wire to someplace you can mount it on a wall or just leave it sitting in the battery compartment. Its much more informative than the display on inverter itself. I do know from experience that Magnums internal xfer switch can stick after years of arcing contacts.
Andypar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2020, 01:35 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Ford truck guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,999
was at the Redwood this weekend...

The Inverter itself in the front storage was turned off.... Once I turned that ON, everything seamed ok..?? Not the inverting switch in the camper, the actual unit itself..

Would that sound right, that IF the Interter was turned OFF it would NOT allow 120 volt to pass thew?

I will call Xantrex This week... It worked all weekend ??????
__________________
2020 F-350
2020 3991RD with-
17.5 Goodyear 114's , Titan Disc brakes, MorRyde 8K IS, Onan 6.5..
Ford truck guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2020, 01:42 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,532
It could be, depending on which voltage activates the Internal Transfer Switch. If it requires voltage from the inverter to activate I guess it's possible.
BUT I thought you said it only operated off the Inverter?? How could it operate if the Inverter was OFF??
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2020, 03:19 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Ford truck guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhs4771 View Post
It could be, depending on which voltage activates the Internal Transfer Switch. If it requires voltage from the inverter to activate I guess it's possible.
BUT I thought you said it only operated off the Inverter?? How could it operate if the Inverter was OFF??

Michelle,

That is what is disturbing... last weekend, the outlet only worked off "INVERT". As soon as I would turn the invert button OFF in the IN Command system, that outlet would shut off... I really do not remember if I touched that switch or not....

This weekend, It was working off "INVERT ", I turned the unit "ON" under the basement and heard a click... The outlet seams to be functioning now as it should <?
__________________
2020 F-350
2020 3991RD with-
17.5 Goodyear 114's , Titan Disc brakes, MorRyde 8K IS, Onan 6.5..
Ford truck guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2020, 03:40 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,532
I'm still really glad we didn't let the Dealer talk us into the In Command when were order this MB. I keep reading of issues both here and lots over on the Montana Forum with the system doing strange things and requiring the total disconnect of all power, both AC and DC to get the system to reboot.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×