Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-18-2013, 12:53 PM   #1

Looking at the black full body paint and wondering if the 2 AC's can keep it cool. For those with the black paint, any problems with temperature in the summer months? Any problems with the black paint itself, swirls from factory, blemishes, saw where one was seeing spider cracks. Not trying to pick apart Redwoods, just wanting to make sure before I make my decision.
Old 04-18-2013, 02:49 PM   #2

My Redwood is a full paint. I'm a painter (cars). I have no issues with the paint on mine what so ever. whom ever painted it did a good job. I'm sure more than one painter at time paint's them. The A/C keeps it cool. I'm in Texas so it get's hot here. I haven't seen any cracking or crazing on mine. I believe there painted with Sikkens paint as the touch-up bottles have Sikkens on them. Sikkens is a very good paint. My F-250 I painted 7-8 years ago with no issue's. A few on here have seen my truck and tell you it's pristine to be 14 years old. Oh if you see "swirls" it's not from painting it,it's from polishing/buffing it. I've polished some of mine and have no swirls. That's a long drawn out subject. It boils down to who's doing it

Eric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 09:18 AM   #3

Any decision? If you've ever bad a black vehicle you
must know how difficult they are to keep clean. Now imagine multiplying that surface area by several factors. I wouldn't want to be you.
Oh...I forgot the five kids.
spindrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 10:16 AM   #4
Site Team

I have the maroon/black paint and have no problems. I also paint cars/hotrods and the paint job on my coach is a good paint job. The paint is a good quality base/clear the same as used on producution cars.

Spider cracks on clear is not common. Swirls are not caused from painting but from polishing as Eric stated.