Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-21-2020, 09:04 PM   #1

Winter Camping LK4001

I'm new to RVing and have a new LK4001. We recently made a trip to Montana and did some unexpected winter camping. I wasn't too worried as these trailers are suppose to be 4 season. With that said, I did have a water line from fresh tank and/or pump freeze up. All good though once thawed

I recently opened up some of the bottom cover to inspect the water lines, only to find that the ones going to the back kitchen and half bath are exposed. I thought these would be ran within the floor insulation.

2 questions:
1. is that normal?
2. what's the best way to keep them from freezing when winter camping. Especially if you are running off the fresh water tank where you can't let the water drip.

Mark K
mkal24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 10:26 PM   #2

There is a heat duct from the furnace into the belly of the beast, it's designed to keep things from freezing, but you have to be running the Gas Furnace enough to supply that heat.
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2020, 10:31 PM   #3

Thanks, I knew it had heat in the basement storage but wasn't sure about the rest of the rig.
Old 11-21-2020, 10:35 PM   #4

You might want to pull the rear basement bulkhead and make sure all the ducts are connected to the furnace. There have been some that didn't get heat where it should be and found ducts laying on the floor.
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top