Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2017, 11:57 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
RCAircraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoggers View Post
I have a directv dish that I cannot get a connection, is it true that you must have directv change your location on your receiver from home.
We had Direct TV in our Redwood (and at home) for the past five years. Never had to have them do anything. We have the Wingard SWS Direct TV dish system. It locks on within minutes as I set up camp. Love it.
__________________
Bob and Carol - Lees Summit, MO,
2016 Silverado 3500 HD, High Country DRW diesel, 3.73 gear ratio, long bed, 25K Reese Elite removable hitch with 2013 Redwood 36RL with 17.5" H-rated tires and MOR/ryde heavy duty shackle links and bushings; 6.5 KW gen
RCAircraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 12:48 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Jim & Mary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 701
We have the Dish Hopper and Joey from the house with us when on the road. At almost any new location, we phone Dish technical support, give them the new local address (zip code) and within a few minutes the local channels for that area appear on the channel lineup. It has worked well for us.
The local channels are delivered to the ground by what's called a spot beam, only to a small geographic area. I was told because of advertising dollars.
__________________


Jim & Mary 2013 36 RL with Titan Disc Brakes Residential Fridge Goodyear 17.5 H rated tires MORryde IS, MORryde pin box 2015 Ford F350 King Ranch DRW
Jim & Mary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 01:04 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
johnboytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,055
If you can't get a connection - that's an issue,

BUT, if you are out of your "spot beam" local area, you can't get local channels...

first try 360 or a national station to see if you have that,
I just used my antenna for local channels...
__________________
Ours: '11 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT followed closely by '14 Jeep 4 dr Wrangler.
Hers: '13 Explorer Sport - AWD 365hp twin turbo scooter!
Previous: '13 Ford F350 CC Platinum and '13 38GK
johnboytoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2017, 04:05 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
proteus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 214
Power antenna switch for 36 RE been looking for pushbutton with green indicator light

Having issues try to get dish satilytte going been with customers service for a few hrs still not right

Should antenna power be diabled or am I having a senior moment I thought it was in cabinet by bedroom tv

All other TV functions working even amazon prime just no satilytte yet
Tomorrow is another day
Done with this tonight

K
proteus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2017, 06:36 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Jim & Mary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 701
Karl

The "power switch" is for the cable TV/local channel antenna, and is a completely separate system from the satellite cable system. The cable TV/local antenna cables are black, and the satellite cables are orange. For satellite reception, the "power switch" is irrelevant.
__________________


Jim & Mary 2013 36 RL with Titan Disc Brakes Residential Fridge Goodyear 17.5 H rated tires MORryde IS, MORryde pin box 2015 Ford F350 King Ranch DRW
Jim & Mary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2017, 12:12 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
proteus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 214
Today will round 2 with dish outdoor Tech getting a receiver not authorized error #129, Id # and smart card correct rebooted several times there is a winegard dome, mission road trip model vip211z decoder. Dish settings dip switches r correct. Their is a hybrid dish switch setting must ask about see if I can get this working?
Thought antenna was separate,

I was tired very long day at work

Not sure if the newer hopper will or won't work this is the reciever they sent many buttons on remote ???

This don't get better it goes back

K
proteus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2017, 08:13 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 545
Proteus,

I'm not familiar with your antenna but the 211 receiver is built for the portable antennas. I use the Dish Tailgater for my 211.

I can tell you that the Hopper will not work with any of the portables. You need a fixed 3LNB antenna, either roof or ground mount with a solo node for the first generation Hopper. I believe the Hopper 3 requires a Hybrid LNB.

Ken
brenkco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2017, 08:21 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Jim & Mary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 701
Ken is correct, I just converted my Winegard dish to switch from Hopper 2 to Hopper 3 and couldn't be happier.
__________________


Jim & Mary 2013 36 RL with Titan Disc Brakes Residential Fridge Goodyear 17.5 H rated tires MORryde IS, MORryde pin box 2015 Ford F350 King Ranch DRW
Jim & Mary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 09:20 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
proteus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 214
I did the registration information ran acquisition test tested out good is working now 211z decoder flex pack and news hbo Cinemax free for a few months too.
proteus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×