RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2013, 08:59 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Retired educators's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 178
Is it possible for television sound to go through ceiling speakers from entertainment system?
__________________
2016 38 RL, tan and burgundy, H rated tires on 17.5 rims, disc brakes, washer and dryer, residential refrigerator, MorRyde IS, 2015 GMC 3500 HD Denali,Duramax DRW, 4x4, Firestone air bags
Retired educators is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 09:24 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
COLJDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 567
yep. you need to have your tv sound turned down to 0 then have the entertainment center on, make sure optical button is pressed on your remote control for the entertainment system, then use the entertainment system remote control to work the sound. If this doesn't work call me at 9044955739 and we can work thru itl

John Moors
__________________
John and "Sam"
COLJDM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:08 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Retired educators's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 178
I tried what you said to do but don't get any sound.
__________________
2016 38 RL, tan and burgundy, H rated tires on 17.5 rims, disc brakes, washer and dryer, residential refrigerator, MorRyde IS, 2015 GMC 3500 HD Denali,Duramax DRW, 4x4, Firestone air bags
Retired educators is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 11:50 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Happy Camper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 429


When I have ours on optical it is in Japanese mode: mouths move and then you hear the words.
__________________
Happy campers - Kerry and Jere. 2010 Dodge 3500HD DRW with 5K ultimate airlift airbags and 2012 Redwood 36RE.
Happy Camper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 08:15 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
COLJDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 567
have you looked at the cables in the rear of the unit to ensure they are correctly installed. Mine were backwards initially, I switched them and everything worked
__________________
John and "Sam"
COLJDM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 08:17 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
COLJDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 567
There is a service number you can call to get help, should be listed on the receiver or it is in your manual. I called them when I had an issue, they were most helpful and worked with me until we had the unit working (my cables were not installed right and I failed to check that prior to calling them)
__________________
John and "Sam"
COLJDM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 08:45 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Retired educators's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 178
I guess I need to look for number to call. Checked cables, moved around and still nothing. I give up. Not technological gifted anyway, frustrating when something is suppose to work and doesn't.
__________________
2016 38 RL, tan and burgundy, H rated tires on 17.5 rims, disc brakes, washer and dryer, residential refrigerator, MorRyde IS, 2015 GMC 3500 HD Denali,Duramax DRW, 4x4, Firestone air bags
Retired educators is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:19 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Happy Camper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 429
Thanks for the information. I will check the cables and let you know.

__________________
Happy campers - Kerry and Jere. 2010 Dodge 3500HD DRW with 5K ultimate airlift airbags and 2012 Redwood 36RE.
Happy Camper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:27 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Adamsvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 596
It all depends on what type of home entertainment center and tv are installed in your unit. In ours we have a LG entertainment center and a Toshiba tv. Had to buy an optical cable and install it. Then as COLJDM said turn the tv sound to "0", and switch the entertainment center to "AuxOpt".
Adamsvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:30 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Campers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 427
I had the same problem, once we got theopticle cable hooked up. I pushed optical and it showed opticle. Forgot to push enter, onece I did it works great
__________________
Bud & Lois
Campers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:44 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Retired educators's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 178
I have same set up as Adamsrv. Where does one buy an optical cable at and how do you hook it up?
__________________
2016 38 RL, tan and burgundy, H rated tires on 17.5 rims, disc brakes, washer and dryer, residential refrigerator, MorRyde IS, 2015 GMC 3500 HD Denali,Duramax DRW, 4x4, Firestone air bags
Retired educators is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:14 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Grandpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 304
Best Buy for sure, maybe Walmart in the TV department. It simply plugs into the Optical output of the DVD player into the Optical input of the TV. Make sure it's long enough to reach both devices.
__________________
Grandpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:21 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
COLJDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 567
I would be calling my dealer and or Redwood if the optical cable was not with the unit upon delivery, and being the way I work, I would make them hook it up and make sure it works as that is part of the warranty. Lazydays (Tampa) installed my satelite and made sure all TVs worked, including the home theater stuff, when we inspected and received our unit. When we cleaned our unit after a long trip, I inadvertedly reversed the cables when I replaced the unit back into the cabinet (a senior moment!!). We have a LG home theater system. Just my opinion.
__________________
John and "Sam"
COLJDM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:27 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Adamsvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 596
After you get the surround sound working make sure all speaker wires to the entertainment center are installed in the correct connector on the entertainment center. We had two wires in the wrong connection.
Adamsvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:29 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Retired educators's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 178
How does one know if they are in correct. location?
__________________
2016 38 RL, tan and burgundy, H rated tires on 17.5 rims, disc brakes, washer and dryer, residential refrigerator, MorRyde IS, 2015 GMC 3500 HD Denali,Duramax DRW, 4x4, Firestone air bags
Retired educators is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:30 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Retired educators's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 178
Are the optical connections on tv and dvd color coded?
__________________
2016 38 RL, tan and burgundy, H rated tires on 17.5 rims, disc brakes, washer and dryer, residential refrigerator, MorRyde IS, 2015 GMC 3500 HD Denali,Duramax DRW, 4x4, Firestone air bags
Retired educators is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:41 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Adamsvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 596
Pull all the speaker wires on the LG entertainment center and plug one in at a time. Listen for the location of where the sound is coming from. If its not in the right place, move the wires to another location.

Re the optical cable - its only one fiber optic with different connectors on each end. It is a no brainer.
Adamsvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:48 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Adamsvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 596
Oh, on the LG remote, there is yellow/orange button under the "Enter" button. It is marked "TV HT SPK". Depress it after turning on LG and it will turn on Aux Opt" and your surround sound. Alternatively you can depress the "Input" button and scroll through choices until "Aux Opt" comes up.Edited by: Adamsvr
Adamsvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 12:24 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Retired educators's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 178
Your remote must be different than mine. I have LG remote and there is no orange/yellow button under the enter and nothing marked tv ht spk. My input button does not give me aux opt selection.
__________________
2016 38 RL, tan and burgundy, H rated tires on 17.5 rims, disc brakes, washer and dryer, residential refrigerator, MorRyde IS, 2015 GMC 3500 HD Denali,Duramax DRW, 4x4, Firestone air bags
Retired educators is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 12:39 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Adamsvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 596


Hummm... does it have an optical button? If so, go out an buy the optical cable and give it a shot. Without seeing your remote, it's difficult to say.
Adamsvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×