Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-05-2015, 04:56 AM   #1

Tow redwood with class C license

I am seriously considering buying a new tow vehicle and a redwood fifth wheel. This would be my first rv purchase. I am new to this potential life style. thanks in advance.
The tow vehicle's GVWR is 14000 lbs and the redwood GVWR is 16,500 lbs; can I legally tow a fifth wheel with a Class C Texas driving license? It seems that I would need a class A drivers license. However, the rules are confusing.
Godog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 05:04 AM   #2
Site Team

In the U.S. they passed laws many years ago making the commercial licenses the same in each state. The CDL class A is for commercial use ( used to be class D). Since you wont be commercial, a regular drivers license should work regardless of weight.
Old 02-05-2015, 03:26 PM   #3

Carefull Dave, many states if the Combined Gross is over 26K they require some sort of addition to a regular license. And because of RWs being heavy there are many of us that are over the 26K number. NY requires an "R" endorsement, Florida doesn't required anything, some other require a non-commercial CDL and everything inbetween. You really need to check with the State where you'll be licensed.
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 03:54 PM   #4
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhs4771 View Post