Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-07-2020, 05:30 PM   #1

Surge Protectors

I have been RVing for many years, and have never used a surge protector. I guess it is a little like insurance. You have it incase you need it.
I did a little research on surge protectors, and there are many out there. Some state they not only protect from surges, but also high/low voltage, and other situations that could arise.
So my question is; recommend surge protector , and why; and do our RW's come with any surge protection devices?
Thanks,
Dan
2015 Polaris RZR 900
danrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 06:45 PM   #2
Site Team

Most fifth wheel RV's do not come with surge protection. At the time of purchase some manufacturers offer them as an option built-in.

I have one like the following link. They have changed them since I purchased mine several years ago.

I believe it is worth the cost as on occasion a power post at a park may go bad and have low or high voltage, and worse yet, a bad ground. If this happens it may cause problems with your appliances. I have had mine detect problems and glad I had it.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N9MOY7B/ref=emc_b_5_i
Old 02-07-2020, 10:22 PM   #3

I have a hard wired surge protector in ours; I installed it after reading some of the other's experience on this forum. The AZ park we stay in during the winter has been around since the early 60's and the park shore power was woefully inadequate. Our unit will shut off the entire coach if the voltage on either L1 or L2 falls to 104V. This is to protect sensitive equipment. One example: