Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-03-2015, 05:02 AM   #1

Storing - Winterizing new RW 38GK

Hi all! We have been following this forum for 3 years this month. Finally, next weekend we are flying from So. Calif to Memphis to perform the PDI on our new 2015 38GK. Unfortunately, we are having to put it in storage there until next Feb or March at which time we will drive back to retrieve it and bring it back to California. The secure storage facility has a roof, but not enclosed.
I need advice on prepping it and storing it for the winter with no shore power available. Some of my questions: Do I disconnect the batteries? Do I dare leave the leveling jacks down? Winterizing the plumbing? Venting the interior? What else?
Being from SoCal, and having owned several different RVs, I have no experience winterizing. This is our first Fifth-Wheel. So as I need to prep this coach right the first time for the 5-6 months of storage with no ability to check on it, I will value your advice. (Not sure I will be able to sleep at night till we finally pick it up!!)
Looking forward to posting our signature/picture after next weekend.
RV4us2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2015, 03:18 PM   #2
Site Team

Leaving your jacks down will take the weight off the suspension and tires. Close up the slides and vents to help keep the critters out. Yes disconnect the batteries (not fun). And yes winterize the unit and make sure you winterize the ice maker, dishwasher and clothes washer. It should take about 6 gallons of the pink stuff.
Old 10-03-2015, 03:45 PM   #3

Congratulations!!

Maybe the Dealer will winterize for you?

Definitely disconnect the battery cables. I typically use the autolevel to level, then retract the rear 4 jacks for storage. No real reason other than thats how I did it the first time and it caught on.