Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-09-2020, 12:22 AM   #1

Replacing fridge

We would like to replace our Norcold 1200 with a residential refrigerator. Has anyone done this? We have a 2013 38GK. Would like suggestions or advice. If you replaced your fridge did you lose the drawer under or cabinet over? What refrigerator did you use? Thank you in advance.
Linda
Linda B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 01:25 AM   #2

We replaced our Norcold with a Samsung RF18 series, two door fridge, bottom door freezer. Our dealer did the work. You also need an inverter to power it from batteries when not hooked up to shore power. I installed ours, but I was an electrician for 40 years. Some have not installed the inverter because they travel from park to park and the fridge is not powered up for less than 8 hours or so. Your choice.

Jim & Mary 2013 36 RL with Titan Disc Brakes Residential Fridge Goodyear 17.5 H rated tires MORryde IS, MORryde pin box 2015 Ford F350 King Ranch DRW
Jim & Mary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 01:48 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim & Mary View Post
We replaced our Norcold with a Samsung RF18 series, two door fridge, bottom door freezer. Our dealer did the work. You also need an inverter to power it from batteries when not hooked up to shore power. I installed ours, but I was an electrician for 40 years. Some have not installed the inverter because they travel from park to park and the fridge is not powered up for less than 8 hours or so. Your choice.
Did you lose the bottom drawer or top cabinet? We do not move this RV.
Linda B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 02:26 AM   #4

Just replaced my Norcold last week with a used Samsung RF197ACRS.