Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-10-2019, 03:32 AM   #1

Need batteries if parked with shore power?

I'm coming off the road and will be parked permanently with shore power. Do I need house batteries?
I did a test with battery switch off. The only thing that didn't work was the kitchen and LR slides. Bedroom slide worked OK.
I'll be in Arizona with ridiculously high summer temps. Would that influence my battery choice, if i even need batteries?
sheelister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 03:55 AM   #2

I'm no expert, but I'd think you'll be still need a battery. The converter, I'm thinking, will run everything but the hydraulic slide pump, but I'd think it would be putting undo wear/tear on the converter. One other question I'd have is running the furnace if the converter could keep up with the continuous 12 volt drain.
Hopefully someone with more knowledgeable than I will jump in with better advice.
Traded '13 GMC Denali DRW D/A
Currently rv & truckless
Replacement undetermined
travelin' texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 05:01 AM   #3

The converter in these rigs is like a large power supply....and is rated to run at the rated amp load (50 amps)...however a battery does take the strain off the converter....and also provides a "filter" for power spikes....as the next item that demands 12 volts fires up...(like a furnace) while other 12 volt loads are also active there will be a voltage drop....momentary yes....but it will dim lights etc....having a battery in line gives you a buffer to minimize that and to also protect the converters circuits from these instant power (amperage) demands...
Wes

2015 38RL. 2016 F-450
wintertree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 05:08 AM   #4