Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-13-2015, 04:55 PM   #1

Cold weather problems

I am new to 5th wheeling with my 2015 36FB, and plan to spend a couple months in the mountains this winter. How do Redwoods handle below freezing temperatures? Is there anything I can do to make the coach more comfortable? Or to prevent freeze-ups? Does anyone have any experience with this and suggestions? Thanks. We expect some evenings to go to -10.
Mountain Nomads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 05:27 PM   #2
lwg

Much below 15* and you'll want to skirt the rig. I put a small heater in the basement and pulled down the wall to keep that area warm. The biggest issue is getting heat to the tank area. Skirting is about the only good option that won't keep you up worried every night.
Old 01-13-2015, 05:35 PM   #3

drain and turn off water to your icemaker as the tubing goes under and outside the coach to the slide and WILL freeze .
johnboytoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 09:00 PM   #4
lwg

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnboytoo View Post
drain and turn off water to your icemaker as the tubing goes under and outside the coach to the slide and WILL freeze .
Excellent point. I unhooked both ends (one is under sink, other behind fridge) and just blew really hard through the line. It took a few mins and I almost fainted (seriously) but quite a bit of water did come out and most importantly, it was very easy to do. Be sure to turn off the valve first.