Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-04-2019, 03:34 PM   #1

80 amp circuit breaker

Can anyone provide a picture of how they removed the 50amp breaker and installed a 80amp breaker for the slide/leveling issue? Thanks
Wayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2019, 05:21 PM   #2

Being a retired electrical engineer, I have to caution folks about replacing a 50 amp breaker with an 80. The breaker is sized to protect the wire from overheating and burning. The wire size for 50 amps is #6. 80 amp is #4. Putting the 80 amp breaker in can cause a bigger problem than tripping the breaker. I'd check with the factory about the issue before switching to the larger breaker.
Old 04-13-2019, 10:38 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomVH View Post
Being a retired electrical engineer, I have to caution folks about replacing a 50 amp breaker with an 80. The breaker is sized to protect the wire from overheating and burning. The wire size for 50 amps is #6. 80 amp is #4. Putting the 80 amp breaker in can cause a bigger problem than tripping the breaker. I'd check with the factory about the issue before switching to the larger breaker.
It's Lipperts, manufacturer of the system, recommendation to increase breaker size to correct the issue.
Traded '13 GMC Denali DRW D/A
Currently rv & truckless
Replacement undetermined
travelin' texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 02:39 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne View Post
Can anyone provide a picture of how they removed the 50amp breaker and installed a 80amp breaker for the slide/leveling issue? Thanks
Wayne,