Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-02-2013, 09:15 PM   #1

Hello Redwood owners, my wife and I are new to the Redwood forum and have questions in regards to how to select a 5th wheel hitch beyond weight and sliding versions. I have lots of experience with bumper pull systems, but have to admit knowing very little about what to look for when considering a 5th wheel hitch. We are considering the purchase of a 36FL this summer and will be towing it with a 2011 Silverado 2500HD 6.6 liter Duramax turbo-diesel and Allison 1000 transmission. Our plan is to play in our own back yard (Colorado) to get used to the unit and then full time next year. We are hoping you can provide us with your experiences with different manufactures. Any insights you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Darrell & YongEdited by: JellyStonePark
JellyStonePark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 10:22 PM   #2
Site Team

Darrell & Young

I look forward to you joining our group of Redwood owners. But I think you're going to have a problem pulling a FL with 3/4 ton truck. I think the FL is heavier than my RL.

As for the 5th wheel hitches, there are several out there. I use a companion made by B/W which allows me to pull it out of the truck easily. There are several on this forum that use the Reese hitch. If you have a short bed you won't need a slider with a Redwood

Good luck and welcome to the forum
Old 02-02-2013, 10:45 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by JellyStonePark