Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-30-2014, 03:12 PM   #1

Water Softener recharge

I just replaced the resin in our water softener and learned a couple of interesting things that were not listed in any other literature. After adding your salt, lay it on its side and roll it a couple of times to loosen the resin and allow the salt and water to penetrate the resin. If you are in an area that has hard water, you can add powdered iron out when you add the salt. 1 -2 teaspoons is all you need. Also, before adding salt, disconnect your supply line and empty the water that way, you won't lose any resin when removing water.
Old 06-30-2014, 04:12 PM   #2

Homeguy
How did you decide you needed resin & where did you get it? I've been using ours for 18 months & having to recharge more often, is that my cue?
Traded '13 GMC Denali DRW D/A
Currently rv & truckless
Replacement undetermined
travelin' texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 04:19 PM   #3

I decided I'd better because each time I had to recharge, I unscrewed the top plug and dumped out water. when I did that, some resin would come out. it was also red in color so there was quite a bit of iron in it and I also was recharging more frequently. I ordered it directly from flowpur. I think it was $65 for the resin for my rv10000. I now know not to dump the water out using the top plug but to unscrew my supply line and dump it that way. Also, if I close the side to the rv, and open the drain side, water will come out quickly by blowing into the drain hose. In addition, you get a free buzz if you blow hard enough!
Old 07-01-2014, 01:33 AM   #4

Thanks for the info!!
Traded '13 GMC Denali DRW D/A
Currently rv & truckless
Replacement undetermined
travelin' texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 03:32 AM   #5
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by homeguy View Post