Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-04-2019, 10:09 PM   #1

Replace Residential Refrigerator in 38RL

Has anyone had to replace the Residential Fridge in a 38RL.

We currently have the Whirlpool French Door 19.7 cu. ft.

All comments appreciated.

Thanks,
JTorsrud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 12:30 PM   #2
Site Team

Welcome to the Redwood forum. I have no experience replacing a refrigerator in our Redwood which is also a different model and does not have a residential refrig. Just curious, why does it need to be replaced?
Old 07-05-2019, 12:57 PM   #3

Our current Whirlpool Residential Fridge does not need replacement.
However, if and when that day comes, I am trying to find a replacement unit, since our current model has been discontinued by Whirlpool.

The biggest problem with these RV Residentials is the size. It has to fit in the Slide Out Space provided. Which is Not standard, compared to regular Refers in your home.

I have written to REDWOOD Customer Service, but as usual they never respond. From the online photos I have seen, it appears as though most manufacturers who use Residentials, are using the FURRION brand Fridge. It is a 20 cu.ft. Fridge and the measurements are perfect for the FIT! Unfortunately, it appears that the FURRION does not have an Ice Maker in it or water in the door.

So, the question was asked to see if anyone in the REDWOOD Community has had to replace their REFERS.

Another point, is the fact that older Whirlpool refers cannot and will not be repaired by REFER technicians. And RV Dealers have NO Clue when it comes to repairs.

Our current REFER is working very well, but would like to know of a replacement, should that day come.

I cannot put in a GAS / Electric Fridge, since it would require a GAS line plumbed into the Slide. And I am not a Fan of Gas absorption REFERS!