Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 04-29-2013, 05:58 PM   #15
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Toad

Thank you very much, Mr. HoosierGuy!

This is excellent information, so I will reply as shown below...also, may I ask a question of you?

QUESTION: If the battery power is adequate to support Manual Leveling without interruption, then how is the battery power not adequate to support AutoLeveling at all? Does that make sense to you?

HoosierGuy: I am a retired electrical/electronics engineer. Battery terminal voltage varies a function of the charge status of the battery. A fully charged lead-acid type battery will have terminal voltage in the range of 13.2 to 13.4 volts. As energy is drawn from the battery and it discharges, the terminal voltage will decrease. I expect that the Lippert tech really means that their control system requires a minimum of 12.75 Volts for the Auto-Level control system to function properly. Like others have posted, I recommend that you have the shore power connected or tow vehicle power connected to the coach when you are leveling the coach. This will ensure that there is sufficient voltage available as most charging systems will put out 14.5 to 14.7 volts when charging the batteries.

REPLY: Yep....in EVERY attempt at resolving this, the 36FB has been attached to the 50 amp RV park connection.

HoosierGuy: All of the suggestions that have been posted are good suggestions. Since you can level the system manually, have you tried re-calibrating the leveling system? If so, and it still doesn't function properly, then possibly the level sensor box ( that is mounted to the ceiling above the battery and hydraulic pump compartment ) and/or the leveling control board is defective. Lippert should be able to walk your technician through a check of those items.