Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2015, 12:10 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
travelin' texans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,839
Cable TV dilemma!

We are at Railside Rv park in Williams Arizona & they have recently upgraded their cable tv system to the latest/greatest digital cable & I've got the best picture ever, but no sound?? Park personal said the older tv's (mine's 3 years old, that ain't old) don't like it unless they have Dolby Digital sound card. Ours says Dolby, but no sound! Neither tv, living room or bedroom. Any ideas short of replacing the tv, which ain't happenin'! Forgot to mention we always have tv sound through the DVD for surround sound.
__________________
Danny & Linda
Former '13 FB owner
Currently rvless!
travelin' texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 12:22 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Rick and Mindy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by travelin' texans View Post
We are at Railside Rv park in Williams Arizona & they have recently upgraded their cable tv system to the latest/greatest digital cable & I've got the best picture ever, but no sound?? Park personal said the older tv's (mine's 3 years old, that ain't old) don't like it unless they have Dolby Digital sound card. Ours says Dolby, but no sound! Neither tv, living room or bedroom. Any ideas short of replacing the tv, which ain't happenin'! Forgot to mention we always have tv sound through the DVD for surround sound.
I would explain to him that if your tv (which is only 3 years old) is the issue than he can expect many more upset customers and I doubt that those upset customers will be willing to change their televisions out. I think they will remember and look for another RV park in the area.....................................just sayin!
__________________
Rick and Mindy
Retired
2013 Redwood 31SL, 2011 Ford F350 SRW, 6.7, Crew Cab with Firestone Bags, Titan Disc Brakes
Rick and Mindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 12:52 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
travelin' texans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,839
I agree! They said they are going to contact their cable supplier & have the system 'dumbed' down so all will have sound. Also after scrolling through my settings menu I found the setting for Dolby Digital but it's not highlighted so apparently it's an old tv after all.
__________________
Danny & Linda
Former '13 FB owner
Currently rvless!
travelin' texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 04:30 AM   #4
Member
 
scott&phyllis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 41
The TV might be older than your RW. Before the dealer had a chance to remove it, we saw a sticker on the tv in our 2016 38GK that said "New 2014". So it was basically 2 years old on day one.
scott&phyllis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 05:04 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,094
You might go into menus and change the audio format on the TV. I think they have 4-5 options.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 05:21 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
travelin' texans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,839
Already options & dolby digital wasn't highlighted so couldn't activate it.
__________________
Danny & Linda
Former '13 FB owner
Currently rvless!
travelin' texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 07:04 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,094
wish I was close to mine, but its 88 miles away snuggled up.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 05:39 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 545
Just a thought, I wonder if the catv supports digital audio out. If so, perhaps you can run an optical cable from the tv to the optical input on your home theater system. Set the home theater to DIN (or equivalent) and perhaps you'll have audio.

Ken
brenkco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 12:08 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,315
Ken, a problem with that is the newer RWs don't even have a Home Theater, just the sound bar.
But back to the problem, so strange to me, we mainly use DirecTV and have the latest and greatest Genie HD receiver and have no problem with sound with only the HDMI cable between the receiver and the LG TV.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 12:23 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 545
Don't sounds bars have optical inputs? Might be worth a try!
brenkco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.