Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2013, 04:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55


Is anyone using a wireless hdmi system to transmit HD picture and sound to a TV not connected to the source with an hdmi cable.

I am using Directv receivers in the living area and the bedroom of a 2013 36RE. The basement TV is connected by coax from the bedroom Receiver using a component to RF converter, but the picture is not hd.

Several vendors offer so called wireless hdmi devices that transmit the hdmi signal to a remote receiver that is connected to the hdtv with a short hdmi cable and, according to about 95% of the reviewers, produces a true 1080P hd picture on the 2nd TV. The other 5% have other opinions.

The systems run about $200 dollars so I plan to try one from Amazon before I try the option of an hdmi powered splitter in the bedroom and a hard wired hdmi cable to the basement.

Having said all of that, does anyone have any experience either good or bad with such products. The one I am getting is made by Actiontec.

Thanks,
jpdunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 04:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
KenM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 104
I have purchased the Actiontec model but have not had the opportunity to install yet. I will try to get it installed this week. If I I do I will post how it went.
__________________
2013 31SL Full Body Paint, 12CF Fridge, Dual pane windows, Genny,Custom sound system & Upgraded TV's 2010 Ram 2500 CTD QCSRW
KenM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 04:57 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55


Mine should arrive tomorrow and I will try it at home, since my Redwood is at the RV Park. If it works in my home trial, I will be trying it in the Redwood onThursday or Friday and will provide a review.
jpdunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 06:35 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Grandpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 304


I'm in the TV business and have used the wireless HDMI systems in several applications. They work great for short throws but can be affected by other wireless devices including cell phones.
__________________
Grandpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 08:19 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Radio_Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 448
I have the 8Ware system. Tried it in the Redwood for the basement, just too much wiring and insulation, a lot of drop outs. I moved it to the house and it works great there. Depending on where you set it up and how much it has to travel through, it could be workable for you. I use it with my Dish receiver.

__________________
Skip & Patty
2013 Redwood 36RL
2015 Ram 3500 Laramie CC DRW 4x4 (Bertha)
USN Retired

Radio_Flyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 11:24 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55
The Actiontec wireless hdmi system arrived today from Amazon as scheduled. The set up was fairly easy even for a non-techy and I tested the system in my large garage. It worked very well.

The real test will come on Thursday or Friday when I install the transmitter in the bedroom of the 36RE and the receiver in the basement.

I will share the results whether good, bad, or ugly.
jpdunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 09:30 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55


The weather in St. Augustine this weekend was horrific with torrential rains and extremely strong winds--even ducks were hiding out.

Finally, on Sunday morning the weather dramatically improved--of course, it was going home day--but I had a chance to install the Actiontec wireless HDMI system and it worked great during a brief trial.

The transmitter is installed at the bedroom TV and the receiver in the basement with that TV. It is working great and, hopefully, will provide continuing good results.

jpdunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 06:22 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
So was that actually the $200 transmitter and receiver? or am I looking at the wrong thing. I've got the basement entertainment that I believe is just split off the main coax to the bedroom for antenna and that's it.
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:45 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55


First, a disclaimer...I am not overly technically gifted...but I try.

The problem with the coaxial cable and the connection in the basement TV area is finding a source for a quality HD signal. For cable only, the coax coming from the bedroom (36RE) works, but for satellite it presents a challenge.

Today's satellite receivers have no coaxial outputs. They are limited to component or hdmi and normally only one of each. Initially, we installed a powered component to coax converter in the bedroom TV area and used the factory installed coax to take the signal to the basement. That worked, but did not produce a high definition picture because the coax would not transmit one.

Consequently, somewhat skeptically, I ordered the Actiontec wireless hdmi system from Amazon for about $200 fully expecting to return it.

It consists of a powered transmitter and a powered receiver. The transmitter plugs into a receptacle in the bedroom and has an hdmi in port for bringing the signal from the satellite receiver and an hdmi out port for the bedroom TV. Obviously, you can only watch the same satellite channel on the two TV's.

The receiver also plugs into a receptacle in the basement and has an hdmi out port for connection to the basement TV. Note, although it should not matter, we did not purchase the pre-installedRedwood "entertainment center." I purchased a 42" Vizio TV from Sam's Club for use in the basement.

As mentioned in the previous post, the St. Augustine weather was horrible this past weekend so I had limited time to use the set-up. I did the installation on Sunday morning and left for home shortly thereafter--but it was producing a high definition picture and quality sound wirelessly.

If the set-up continues to work this well, it certainly increases the flexibility of outside TV placement. Our lot has a nice deck fairly close and I plan to try placing the TV and wireless receiver there to see if that works as well. That would make for perfect college football viewing in the fall.
jpdunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 10:44 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
5th_Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,121
DTV H24 receivers come with the IR remote, but they also sell an RF remote (cheap) that wouldlet you change your channels while sitting outside with your setup. I likethe RF in my RL's bedroom because you can mount the reciever insidethe solid-front cabinets and keep thecabinet door closed.



If you use the new DTV H25 receiver (which is smaller), you need to add an RF "dongle" to make it RF compatible. You also need to have the SWM (Single Wire Multi-switch) satellite setup.



The new Traveler SK-SWM3HD auto roof-mount dish has that built in. I havelast year'sSK-3005 HD auto roof-mount dish and it neededa SWM8 upgrade kit, but after that,I only needed the single factory coax and a splitter instead of four separate coaxcables through the roof.
__________________
Mike & Pam '12 36RL, Kodiak Discs, 17.5" G114s H-Rated, SRE4000 w/HD Shackles, Joy Rider Shocks, Flex Air, 5.5 Onan, W&D, DW, 4 Scare Lights, (2) 6V Trojan T-145s; Progressive EMS-HW50C, Winegard DTV Sat, Sony/Denon 4K Home Theater, WiFiRanger EliteAC Pack, weBoost 4G-X Cell Booster.

'18 GMC Denali 3500HD CC, 4x4, DRW, DuraMax, Allison, Curt Q25 w/OEM Prep, Intellihaul Cameras, Transfer Flow 70gal Aux Tank/Toolbox.
5th_Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 08:05 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55
Cancel my enthusiastic endorsement of the Actiontec wireless HDMI system. After working flawlessly last weekend, it won't sync today. I don't need this aggravation and will be shipping back to Amazon on Monday.

Too bad, it seemed to have promise.
jpdunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 09:08 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
Thank you for your honesty! I think I'll pass and figure something else out.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 12:18 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55


Having given up on the wireless hdmi to get HD pictures from a DIRECTV receiver at the bedroom TV in a 2013 36RE, I am now looking at the challenge of running an HDMI cable from the bedroom to the basement.

I have a powered HDMI splitter to use with the receiver in the Bedroom and as an outlet for a long HDMI cable to the basement.

The big challenge is finding a way to inconspicuously route the cable to the basement. MY unit has a floor to almost ceiling storage cabinet on theleft side of the wall between the closet and the 2nd sink with a window and drawers to the right of that all the way to the 2nd sink in the bedroom. The satellite receiver and a blu-ray player sit on top of that cabinet and the cables route through a hole into the TV.

It appears the basement HDMI could be routed downthrough the cabinet and under the drawers to the sink area and then down into the basement, but that will be a fairly long HDMI cable.

Any thoughts on a simpler route and on the maximumeffective length for an HDMI cable?

Thanks,
jpdunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 12:54 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,357
Check in the front right corner (curb side) of the basement ceiling. On our RL we have a register that goes into the Bedroom under the cabinet. When I set-up our portable sat dish last fall, I ran the coax up thru that register to the receiver as a temp measure.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 02:31 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 325
I had RW put my cables in when they built it it all works great with the powered spliter my only trouble is the main Toshiba TV it will shut off if I turn any of the other TVs off (it's not the remotes) also it's HDMI plugs are very loose.
Beechguyjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Redwood Registry

Ruffnit

BobH

Fmlyfun

bjfdvm
Add your Redwood RV
» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×