Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2015, 01:55 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
mstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 182
Water pump

Can anyone tell me which 12v fuse controls the water pump? It has been fine until I stopped and turned it on this morning. Nothing!😁
mstan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 06:25 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
r time soon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 586
It shouldn't be in the distribution panel like you would think. It should be on it's own separate fuse holder right next to the water pump itself. 15 amp MAX. Fuse is red in color. Don't forget that the water pump can be turned on/off in 2 different places. On your command center in living area where other switches and tank monitors are, the other location is near your convenience center where city fill/ and gravity fill are located for water and tank dump valve locations.

Chris
r time soon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 06:59 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
mstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 182
Chris, thank you for the response. I figured out that the fuse panel is not the only fuse. I have checked both switches. I know there is another fuse. However on my GK it isn't obvious or easy to get to. Plus it is rainning like crazy so I will just have to wait till I get parked tonight to trace it out. Thank you
Mark
mstan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 02:41 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
mstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 182
Chris, I got parked this eve and opened up the basement. As best as I can tell there is no fuse anywhere close to the pump itself. I traced the wires to the other switch which is located outside at the convenience center. I did not unscrew the whole wall because i have way to much stuff to just sit out here at the park. So I am not sure where a second fuse would be located. I don't know if anyone else has had any issues with the water pump that would like to jump in here and offer a hint as to where the fuse controlling the water pump is located. No wiring diagram for the 2015 38 Gk so I am just looking.
mstan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 02:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,336
Do you have a meter so you can check for power (12 VDC)??
I have had several intermittent loss of power at the Awning and found the Faston connector no longer attached to the switch, plus I have found misc poor crimps that were causing problems.
I would be looking for power at and through each of the Water Pump switches and work my way to the pump. I don't recall if they used crimp connectors at the pump or just wire nuts, but would check them also.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 03:01 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
travelin' texans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,868
May want to take the end of pump apart & make sure that there's not a piece of tank cuttings stopping the pump.
__________________
Danny & Linda
Former '13 FB owner
Currently rvless!
travelin' texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 03:38 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
r time soon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 586
Would agree on testing with a meter to determine if you have 12v at the switches that lead to the pump. Should be no second fuse location if it wasn't right near the water pump. If 12v is there at the pump, and pump is not running, sounds like it could be the pump itself. If that was the case you could remove pump and do a partial disassembly of the pump head. There shouldn't be debris in there because there is the sediment screen filter attached to the pump itself.

Chris
r time soon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 07:04 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
NW Snowbirds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 299
Send a message via AIM to NW Snowbirds
My pump would not run two days ago. I pulled it out and played with it in my shop. A spade connector on the pump pressure switch was not making a good connection. The + power connects to the pressure switch on the end of the pump and then to the pump motor. When the pressure switch senses 50 psi the switch cuts power to the pump motor. It could also be a faulty pressure switch. I just ordered a spare for $15. The power to the pump is connected with wire nuts on my unit.
__________________
2012 Redwood 31SL chasing 2013 GMC 2500HD Duramax SRW
NW Snowbirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 08:09 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
RCAircraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 412
Agree that using a meter for checking for 12 VDC at the pump would be a good first step.
__________________
Bob and Carol - Lees Summit, MO,
2016 Silverado 3500 HD, High Country DRW diesel, 3.73 gear ratio, long bed, 25K Reese Elite removable hitch with 2013 Redwood 36RL with 17.5" H-rated tires and MOR/ryde heavy duty shackle links and bushings; 6.5 KW gen
RCAircraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2015, 01:41 AM   #10
Site Team
 
hoosierguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by mstan View Post
Chris, I got parked this eve and opened up the basement. As best as I can tell there is no fuse anywhere close to the pump itself. I traced the wires to the other switch which is located outside at the convenience center. I did not unscrew the whole wall because i have way to much stuff to just sit out here at the park. So I am not sure where a second fuse would be located. I don't know if anyone else has had any issues with the water pump that would like to jump in here and offer a hint as to where the fuse controlling the water pump is located. No wiring diagram for the 2015 38 Gk so I am just looking.

I had to replace my motor/pump this summer due to the pump developing a very slow leak. The motor was connected to the power leads with wire nuts. I found no evidence of an inline fuse anywhere in the wire bundle. If there is one, it is well hidden and if that is the case, SHAME ON REDWOOD. Fuses should never be hidden.

I would recommend that you get a voltmeter and start tracing the 12 VDC voltage through the circuit. Start at the motor and work your way back towards the power source. I have seen the quick connect terminals come loose from the switches for the awnings so that is something to check on the switches for the pump.
__________________
Guy & Phyllis
2012 RW36RL,DualA/C,KodiakDiskBrakes,TrailAir Tri-Glide,GY_G614's,Mor/RydeSRE4000,HDShackles/WetBolts
2011Dodge3500Laramie,CrewCab,4x4,SRW,Michelins, LongBed,6.7LCTD,3.73,PullRiteSuper5th20.5KHitch, BlueOxBedsaver

hoosierguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.