Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2012, 12:15 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
LaMigra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Hi, first post; does anyone know if you can use the surrond sound feature when using the TV just off the antenna? Seems a waist if it only works when viewing a DVD etc.

Have a 2012 36 RE Black & Tan.

Thanks!
__________________
Redwood 36RE Black & Tan
2011 1/2 Dodge Laramie Longhorn, 4X4 DRW 6.7L
LaMigra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 12:41 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
LaMigra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Sorry for the typo! SURROUND SOUND[u]
__________________
Redwood 36RE Black & Tan
2011 1/2 Dodge Laramie Longhorn, 4X4 DRW 6.7L
LaMigra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 03:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Adamsvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 596
Yes, buy a 4 or 6 foot optical cable to connect the TV to the DVD. Check the connectors on the TV and DVD first to ensure you buy the right male connectors. Fish it through the hole in the back of the TV cabinet upto the optical in of the DVD. Tune the DVD to AUX OPT - you now have surround sound with the TV!Edited by: Adamsvr
Adamsvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 05:33 PM   #4
Member
 
IPull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 75


Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamsvr
Yes, buy a 4 or 6 foot optical cable to connect the TV to the DVD. Check the connectors on the TV and DVD first to ensure you buy the right male connectors. Fish it through the hole in the back of the TV cabinet upto the optical in of the DVD. Tune the DVD to AUX OPT - you now have surround sound with the TV!



Before you
go and buy the cable you might want to check my 2012 36RE had the optical cable. On
your receiver put it on optical and turn the vol up on receiver and down on TV. What ever audio is on the TV will go thru the sound system.Now if the
audio is not encoded for surround sound you will only get stereo </span>but it will go thru the system.</span><?: prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" />

</span>

__________________
2015 GMC 3500 HD with a 36RE
IPull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 05:39 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
TravelinAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 539
Adamsvr is correct. If you look on the remote for the DVD player it should have an "optical" button. If it does, and you have an optical cable connecting the television and DVD player all you have to do is hit the "optical" button on remote to play the audio through your surround sound speakers. You may have to turn the television volume to zero to avoid getting an echo effect.
TravelinAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 12:37 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
LaMigra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 23
All,

Thanks! I'll give it a try this weekend. Hope you're all as pleased with your rig a we are.
__________________
Redwood 36RE Black & Tan
2011 1/2 Dodge Laramie Longhorn, 4X4 DRW 6.7L
LaMigra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 05:00 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,349


If you have the RCA unit, there is a Tone Test that can be done, we have some speakers that are miswired. Like Left Front and Left Rear Surround wires swapped.
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 05:45 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Adamsvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 596
Just to be clear, our 36RL has a Toshiba TV and a LG DVD. Don't know what you have? Good luck.
Adamsvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 06:50 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,349


Must be what ever they can get. We have the Toshiba TV and RCA Home Theater system
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 09:01 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
TravelinAnderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 539
Ours had an RCA from the factory but it wasn't blu-ray so the our dealer swapped it out for the LG LHB326 Blu-Ray player
TravelinAnderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 01:34 PM   #11
Member
 
Tall-Pines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 80

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhs4771

If you have the RCA unit, there is a Tone Test that can be done, we have some speakers that are miswired. Like Left Front and Left Rear Surround wires swapped.
Totally agree on this point ... I don't think one of our speakers was connected to the correct output on the RCA.

__________________
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><font color=BROWN>Ian & Jan</font>
Woodview, ON, Canada
2013 36RL w/2011 Ford F350 King Ranch DRW
</font><img src="http://cowco.net/images/RedwoodRVForumSig.jpg" border="0"
Tall-Pines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 09:25 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Call Brian at redwood hell send u a optic cable got mine last week
__________________
aaron
l.u.219welder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 09:57 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
LaMigra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 23
Sir,

Thanks for the reply on the surround sound--it works! Have a question for you. I have a 2011 ram 3500 aas well and it seems like the built in break controller doesn't let you "set" the trailer brakes on the strong side. The exhaust break is awsome; however, it still seems like the the controller makes no difference if set at 1 or 10. How's yours?
__________________
Redwood 36RE Black & Tan
2011 1/2 Dodge Laramie Longhorn, 4X4 DRW 6.7L
LaMigra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 01:02 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 555
Our coach was initially wired so that the fm speakers where on the front right and rear right messing up the surround sound. I did the sound test and rewired the back of the player. Works now and that subwoofer will roll your socks down. Nice way of puttung it.
__________________
Jay and Linda
2013 36RL
Tobys Home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 01:42 PM   #15
Site Team
 
hoosierguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobys Home
Our coach was initially wired so that the fm speakers where on the front right and rear right messing up the surround sound. I did the sound test and rewired the back of the player. Works now and that subwoofer will roll your socks down. Nice way of puttung it.


I was working on my entertainment system in the past week and realized that the two of the speaker wire pairs were not connected.......a thirdpair became disconnected while I was moving the LG DVD player around to look at the connections and there was not a pair of wires eve present for the sub-woofer.



I started checking system operation and found that only 1 pair of wires were connected to the correct output locations. I set up the sound test and connected all of the pairs correctly..........I had to add extensions to two pairs of wires to make that possible.



You mention a sub-woofer.........I was wondering if there was supposed to be a sub-woofer present since there are no wires in the bundle. I take it that you do have a sub-woofer. Where is it located? Behind the fireplace? I suppose I will have to dismantle something in order to find it.
__________________
Guy & Phyllis
2012 RW36RL,DualA/C,KodiakDiskBrakes,TrailAir Tri-Glide,GY_G614's,Mor/RydeSRE4000,HDShackles/WetBolts
2011Dodge3500Laramie,CrewCab,4x4,SRW,Michelins, LongBed,6.7LCTD,3.73,PullRiteSuper5th20.5KHitch, BlueOxBedsaver

hoosierguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 04:02 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
5th_Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,121
Yes behind the fireplace. There is a separate pair of wires leading to it.

I was disappointed by the lack of an HDMI input on the RCA unit for the Direct-TV DVR receiver, plus I had some compatibility issues playing BDs (which I never had at home), so I replaced the unit with a SONY home receiver (STR-DH720) and Blu-ray player (BDP-S590). Now the receiver does all the A/V switching. The only issue is that you need a powered subwoofer for this, so I used a Mirage compact sub MM-8.

Such a difference!Edited by: 5th_Time
__________________
Mike & Pam '12 36RL, Kodiak Discs, 17.5" G114s H-Rated, SRE4000 w/HD Shackles, Joy Rider Shocks, Flex Air, 5.5 Onan, W&D, DW, 4 Scare Lights, (2) 6V Trojan T-145s; Progressive EMS-HW50C, Winegard DTV Sat, Sony/Denon 4K Home Theater, WiFiRanger EliteAC Pack, weBoost 4G-X Cell Booster.

'18 GMC Denali 3500HD CC, 4x4, DRW, DuraMax, Allison, Curt Q25 w/OEM Prep, Intellihaul Cameras, Transfer Flow 70gal Aux Tank/Toolbox.
5th_Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 08:21 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
lillyputz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoosierguy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobys Home
Our coach was initially wired so that the fm speakers where on the front right and rear right messing up the surround sound. I did the sound test and rewired the back of the player. Works now and that subwoofer will roll your socks down. Nice way of puttung it.


I was working on my entertainment system in the past week and realized that the two of the speaker wire pairs were not connected.......a thirdpair became disconnected while I was moving the LG DVD player around to look at the connections and there was not a pair of wires eve present for the sub-woofer.



I started checking system operation and found that only 1 pair of wires were connected to the correct output locations. I set up the sound test and connected all of the pairs correctly..........I had to add extensions to two pairs of wires to make that possible.



You mention a sub-woofer.........I was wondering if there was supposed to be a sub-woofer present since there are no wires in the bundle. I take it that you do have a sub-woofer. Where is it located? Behind the fireplace? I suppose I will have to dismantle something in order to find it.
Isn't just amazing how much work is being but into all the redwood, by the owners, because the factory can't get there sh*t together and hire competent workers.



Lillyputz
__________________
36RE Redwood LEMON
lillyputz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×