Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2013, 10:32 PM   #1
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
Has anybody tried installing their own Sat. dish on the roof? I'm considering doing it myself and wondering what I'm in for.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:38 PM   #2
Member
 
jrgkfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 99


Dave , I've watched two of the Slimlines installed. Don't think it would be too hard 'secially since the coach is alreay wired for it. I had mine put up front so I have alot of cable on the roof but its all clamped down and sealed so no problem. You just want to use lots of sealer.
__________________
John & Kay
Cash,the dog
2018 GMC Denali 3500 DRW Crewcab
2013 Redwood 36RL Full paint D/W W/D 2 A/C's and all the other stuff.
jrgkfg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:49 PM   #3
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
I'm thinking the "wing Guard" slime line. This system seems to have a power cord going to it. I know I have 2 cables up on the roof but how do I get the power cord up there?
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 11:05 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18
What. Model of Redwood do you have?
__________________
C&D Lee
C&D.L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 11:07 PM   #5
Member
 
jrgkfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 99


I read somewhere here that the control cable is already in the roof but I dont know where. We had them run a cable down thu the bathromwallto the basement and put the control there. That way it's not in the bedroom and I've it part of the set up and tear down while the wife is doing her thing inside.Search the forum it's in here and it wasn't too long ago.
__________________
John & Kay
Cash,the dog
2018 GMC Denali 3500 DRW Crewcab
2013 Redwood 36RL Full paint D/W W/D 2 A/C's and all the other stuff.
jrgkfg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 11:25 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18
From the factory on the original RL's the control/power wire might be behind behind the bedroom tv and the other end under one of the 2 cable ends on the roof. I still removed the bathroom skylight and fished additional coax through the roof and down the wall behind the shower into the basement. I mounted my controller in the toolbox cubby where there already is power to plug in.
__________________
C&D Lee
C&D.L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 07:38 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
fathog99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 110


Explore moved my roof mount winegard from my Open Range to my 36RL and we had him mount the control box in the bottom of the coat closet by the door. He had no problem with the installation of my unit since it's prewired. Personally I would find a good dealer like Explore and have it done and set up properly with my sound system.
__________________
fathog
fathog99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 10:01 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55
On the RE's, the power cable for the Winegard control box is in the cabinet beside the bedroom TV.
jpdunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 01:41 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 353
Fathog99 when you went to Explore did they have to run new wire for the Dish or did they use the ones all ready on the roof? Only reason Im asking is I inquired the other day about having a dish installed on the roof and they told me they would have to run 2 more lines and it would be a bout 3 g’s! I told them that I have wires all ready run but he keep telling me that they would have to add 2 more wires.
__________________
Chuck & Carol

Full Timers in our 2013 36FL with MoRryde 8000# IS suspension. Pulled by 2012 Sport Chassis with Hensley Trailer Saver Hitch.
UNDRPSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 02:47 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
fathog99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 110


The only wireExplore USAran was for the control box to raise and lower the dish. As far as I know all the rest of the wiring harness was there. The 36RL is already wired for a roof sat dish. If nothing else go to Camping World. They installed the dish on my Open Range and had to run all the wiring and I'm sure it was less than $250.
__________________
fathog
fathog99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 04:34 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
sinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 506
I'm having the Direct TV dish installed as we speak for $300. Not sure if they have to run additional wiring or not, but the dealer already new in advanced Redwood typically have cable wiring problems.
__________________
Dean & Pam - SOB
sinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×