Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-27-2015, 07:10 PM   #1

rv generator

Hi folks, I bought a 2014 Redwood 36re back in November and have a couple of questions..I'm a touring musician and wondered what ya'lls opinion of this Fifth Wheel is as far as traveling with it ALOT..Will it hold up over the long haul..Being my first 5th wheel purchase I did about 6 months of homework on them and chose Redwood for quality, the way it's built, fit and finish and finally looks..My second question is what type, size, generator is best suited for this particular trailer..Thanks for any input..Txase
txase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 07:22 PM   #2
Site Team

txase welcome to the group.

I had a 2012 36RL and towed it all over the country. The nearest we can figure, we towed it between 35,000 and 40,000 miles in 3 year time period. So to answer your question, the redwood is capable of being towed a great deal. I would recommend you keeping a close eye on the suspension because these have had suspension issues. Also check the tires. They should be G rated or better due to the weight. As with ALL rvs, maintenance is the key to the reliability.

As for the generator, I had and really liked the LP Onan 5500. It would power both a/c units and everything else I needed in the coach. Some on here have used 2 gas generators harnessed together that has worked. But I have no personal experience with this set up.
Old 12-27-2015, 08:08 PM   #3

Also there is considerable posting regarding the brakes on these coaches. Standard is electric drum brakes, but many have either ordered their coaches with hydraulic disc brakes (electrically activated) or converted them after the fact. The differences in stopping distance is astounding. Something to consider. I didn't wait for an "oops moment" to happen and converted to discs.