Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2015, 10:26 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
mstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 182
Old issue revisited. AC?

I have been so engrossed with so many other larger issues that I have not paid attention to all of the threads on this fine forum. Has anyone yet successfully installed a third AC on the RW? I of course have the 38GK. Today is not what I consider a REALLY hot south Louisiana day. 92 and low humidity. Both AC's are running wide open and cannot get it any lower than 76 degrees. This is just not acceptable in my opinion. I may be expecting far to much. I have read all the other quick fixes. But have yet to have my GK at home long enough to check those issues and fix them if possible.
mstan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 10:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 648
Mark,
I have Redwood working on a fix for mine. Will pm you when I get a resolution.
__________________

Ron & Margaret
2014 Ram 3500 DRW 6.7, Aisin, 4.10
"Pequod" 2015 Redwood 38GK
Titan Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 11:16 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
rob_fla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Titan Guy View Post
Mark,
I have Redwood working on a fix for mine. Will pm you when I get a resolution.
Let us know what Redwoods resolution is, I have done a number of improvements and today sitting here in Williston FL (Ocala area) we are maintaining 72 degrees with ease.

I may have missed something that will help / improve our A/C performance / efficiency, I just modified the items I found that I thought were affecting our A/C performance but would sure like to hear if Redwood has any other ideas !!!
__________________
Robert & Sheryl
2014 Redwood 38FL
MoRyde 8K IS, Disc Brakes, MoRyde Pin Box
17.5 Goodyear G114's, RV Armor Roof
2018 RAM 3500 DRW, Curt Q24 Hitch

rob_fla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 04:32 AM   #4
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
I agree, a third a/c is nice (I hace 3 on my coach) but I believe this might require a energy management system due to all the electrical draw. It's my understanding, a few 5th wheels ( the new Luxe is one of them) have this type of system but I don't think Redwood has gone down that path yet. It's way over due so hopefully they're looking at it.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 05:42 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
Dave, do you have the new 100A plug? I heard some of the campsites are starting to provide them.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 06:10 AM   #6
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
No Brad....we have the 50 amp plug. The energy management keeps everything running as it should.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 06:17 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
I just tried to look it up - looks like they just use two 50A cords that plug into a twin 50A pedestal. I guess there aren't too many out there - a few Prevost and Newell. I thought maybe it was a new type of plug but I guess not.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 12:35 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
rob_fla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave&Ginny View Post
I agree, a third a/c is nice (I hace 3 on my coach) but I believe this might require a energy management system due to all the electrical draw. It's my understanding, a few 5th wheels ( the new Luxe is one of them) have this type of system but I don't think Redwood has gone down that path yet. It's way over due so hopefully they're looking at it.
Redwood says they have gone with a Power Management System on the new models with 3 A/C units due to the amp load of all the electrical appliances and 3 A/C units/
__________________
Robert & Sheryl
2014 Redwood 38FL
MoRyde 8K IS, Disc Brakes, MoRyde Pin Box
17.5 Goodyear G114's, RV Armor Roof
2018 RAM 3500 DRW, Curt Q24 Hitch

rob_fla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 05:58 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave&Ginny View Post
I agree, a third a/c is nice (I hace 3 on my coach) but I believe this might require a energy management system due to all the electrical draw. It's my understanding, a few 5th wheels ( the new Luxe is one of them) have this type of system but I don't think Redwood has gone down that path yet. It's way over due so hopefully they're looking at it.
As of yesterday when I checked, we are now offering 3 AC's and an energy management system :-) Heat pumps standard on 2 of those AC's, 3rd heat pump is an option.

Tell Luxe to do their worst
ChristianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 08:03 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianM View Post
As of yesterday when I checked, we are now offering 3 AC's and an energy management system :-) Heat pumps standard on 2 of those AC's, 3rd heat pump is an option.

Tell Luxe to do their worst
Awesome!

So what exactly does the management system do? Does is check or monitor loads and prioritize what can run so as not to overload the 50A?
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 08:25 PM   #11
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
Mine tells me how many amps are coming into the coach and then utilizes the amps according to what is needed. So even if I plug into a 30 amp plug, it will work with the power source better. I believe it also works with my inverter to power some of my plugs.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 09:18 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
That sounds cool - and probably a necessity with 3 ACs. Do you get to pick what is considered needed, or is that a factory setup thing?
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 09:24 PM   #13
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by atom ant View Post
That sounds cool - and probably a necessity with 3 ACs. Do you get to pick what is considered needed, or is that a factory setup thing?
I wish I could tell you I'm smart and have all of these new things figured out.......but I'm not that smart. Too many things to do and this summer has been a very busy for us.

I turn on my inverter, and let the computer do the rest. We've never had anything not work when we tell it to. IT'S MAGIC!
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 09:26 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
hahaha MAGIC is good! Some things are best left as they are if all works good!
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 09:36 PM   #15
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
The only thing I can say for sure is with the Redwood I could tell when I was pushing the limit on the amperage that was provided. I don't know if all the energy management systems work the same but with ours, it seems to work seamlessly. I can even set mine up to where the generator automatically kicks on and provides power when the amperage gets too low (or the unit gets too cold) but I haven't played with that part yet.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 10:05 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
When I was looking at MHs they seemed to have their stuff together on power and probably made easy work of the residential fridges and even the cooktops. I remember even watching the gen start if the inverters pulled power too low. Trailers are going to have to take that next step of sophistication if they are going to continue to introduce residential appliances more and more. Generators may have to become standard to make them actually all work together as well as a MH.

Unfortunately at that point, they may be priced out of my reasonableness for what we use as a camper.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 10:42 PM   #17
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by atom ant View Post
When I was looking at MHs they seemed to have their stuff together on power and probably made easy work of the residential fridges and even the cooktops. I remember even watching the gen start if the inverters pulled power too low. Trailers are going to have to take that next step of sophistication if they are going to continue to introduce residential appliances more and more. Generators may have to become standard to make them actually all work together as well as a MH.

Unfortunately at that point, they may be priced out of my reasonableness for what we use as a camper.
Brad I agree.......

Tom and I had that discussion before his departure. I think it can be done if it's demanded by the future buyers. I believe right now the RV manufactures (5th wheels) are too focused on the glitz and glitter and not enough on function. if a survey is taken, most owners are making their decisions based on the floor plan rather than the quality of build or the functionality of the unit.

I'm surprised somebody doesn't make a large cardboard box, put nice paint on it and arrange the furniture right........it would probably sell.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 11:31 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
Well I definitely agree the residential fridge came out in the Redwood before it was ready. Between battery issues, not being able to shutdown the inverter, not being able to winterize, and dented doors, there could have been a little more research done on what MHs and even other brands were doing.

I know some of this just doesn't show up until production is done, but I think a lot of the aggravation could have been avoided wit a little more homework. The owners are finding out the residential cooktops aren't what they seem either - given one burner cuts to 50% when the second burner comes on, but I don't know how you avoid that on a non-220V setup. The closer these get to residential, the greater the need to bite the bullet and go to 220V like the MH, and maybe the split 50s like the new MHs are requiring to get 100A 220V service.

The future looks fun, but I still like my old fashioned gas appliances to work on 12V. For now...
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 11:48 PM   #19
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
I've still got the LP cook top but I guess the all the 2016 units have the induction cook tops. I guess I'm old fashion because we still miss the old ovens
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 11:54 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave&Ginny View Post
I've still got the LP cook top but I guess the all the 2016 units have the induction cook tops. I guess I'm old fashion because we still miss the old ovens
hahaha - I got that too, wasn't negotiable with the DW - but I actually got her to start using the convection. She will only use it if the gas oven is tied up

And she thinks the heat pumps are silly because they don't warm the floor, so she kicks on the gas furnace! Looks like our MH might need the heated tile floor!

We looked at an older Newmar for fun that actually had no propane on board. The giant generator was diesel, and the heat was one of those hot water heat systems like you have, but when not on electric it fired up with diesel. Quite the intricate system for a gadget guy like me, not to mention the solar roof and 18 batteries in the back....
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×