Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2014, 05:27 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Amishco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 114
Low Voltage

Some of the 12 volt inside lights are very dim like they are running low voltage, the right side over table and over recliners as well as in the back office. the rest of the lights are all normal. we pulled out of Lancaster PA on Saturday and arrived into Haines City FL on Sunday Morning.
Also our Max air was emmiting a alarm up at fan when we arrived into Florida the only way to stop it was to cut wires going to it.
__________________
2013 38 BR Full Paint, Duel Awnings, W&D, Office Config. everything including the kitchen sink 2013 GMC 3500DW
Amishco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 05:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
I would have pulled the fuse before cutting wires, but OK.

That used to happen to me on our Montana, and it meant one of the main fuses in the panel for the converter had blown. I don't know what it was exactly doing, but half of the 12 volt stuff would drop down to about 3 volts.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 05:50 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Amishco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 114
Where is the fuse panel locater for the converter???
__________________
2013 38 BR Full Paint, Duel Awnings, W&D, Office Config. everything including the kitchen sink 2013 GMC 3500DW
Amishco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 05:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Amishco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 114
Thats probably what through my max air into alarm too
__________________
2013 38 BR Full Paint, Duel Awnings, W&D, Office Config. everything including the kitchen sink 2013 GMC 3500DW
Amishco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 05:52 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
I haven't looked on the Redwood, but on the Montana it was in with all the other 12v fuses in the fuse panel. It was two 30A fuses but may be higher on the Redwood.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 05:53 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Amishco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 114
none of the 12 volt fuses at panel by door showed an issue, are there others somewhere I don't know about?
__________________
2013 38 BR Full Paint, Duel Awnings, W&D, Office Config. everything including the kitchen sink 2013 GMC 3500DW
Amishco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 05:58 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Amishco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 114
ok now I just looked again in fuse panel and there is a blown fuse on number 7 called dssid on label. dang Amishman who wrote label can't read his writing.
__________________
2013 38 BR Full Paint, Duel Awnings, W&D, Office Config. everything including the kitchen sink 2013 GMC 3500DW
Amishco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 06:00 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
I wish I knew more about the Redwood - but I haven't owned it long enough yet - sorry. there might be some on the converter itself, and I'm not sure where that is.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 06:08 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Amishco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 114
thank you Adam Ant, figured it out, the only time fuse shows blown in panel is when the switches are turned on, if they are in off position the fuse panel shows no issues. so I replaced the 20 amp fuse and wa las lights are working again
__________________
2013 38 BR Full Paint, Duel Awnings, W&D, Office Config. everything including the kitchen sink 2013 GMC 3500DW
Amishco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 06:24 PM   #10
Site Team
 
hoosierguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,285
There is also an access panel through the back wall of "Dads Tool Storage". This should give you access to the converter and converter fuses.
__________________
Guy & Phyllis
2012 RW36RL,DualA/C,KodiakDiskBrakes,TrailAir Tri-Glide,GY_G614's,Mor/RydeSRE4000,HDShackles/WetBolts
2011Dodge3500Laramie,CrewCab,4x4,SRW,Michelins, LongBed,6.7LCTD,3.73,PullRiteSuper5th20.5KHitch, BlueOxBedsaver

hoosierguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 06:31 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
Fantastic! Glad that took care of it!
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 06:33 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoosierguy View Post
There is also an access panel through the back wall of "Dads Tool Storage". This should give you access to the converter and converter fuses.
Guy, I remember that on the show model, but that panel is gone now. Not sure why or where it went.
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 01:56 AM   #13
Site Team
 
hoosierguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,285
Quote:
Originally Posted by atom ant View Post
Guy, I remember that on the show model, but that panel is gone now. Not sure why or where it went.
It was and is there on my 2012 36RL. When the factory service center had to replace my converter under warranty back in September, they added an additional vent hole inside "Dad's Tool Storage" for me because they had to rotate the position of the converter for it to get better air circulation. The previous access panel would no longer allow access to the converter fuses, so, now I have to remove the vent hole cover if and when I ever have to access the fuses.

FYI...........the converter fuses that is in my unit are 35 Amp automotive style fuses. They gave me the fuses out of the bad converter, but, I haven't been able to find any 35 Amp fuses at any of a couple of suppliers so far.

The factory is always changing things as they go along if they can find a better way (perceived or real) of doing something.
__________________
Guy & Phyllis
2012 RW36RL,DualA/C,KodiakDiskBrakes,TrailAir Tri-Glide,GY_G614's,Mor/RydeSRE4000,HDShackles/WetBolts
2011Dodge3500Laramie,CrewCab,4x4,SRW,Michelins, LongBed,6.7LCTD,3.73,PullRiteSuper5th20.5KHitch, BlueOxBedsaver

hoosierguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×