Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2014, 07:54 PM   #1
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
inverter

After I took down the basement wall of my RL, I noticed that the inverter had a switch next to the fuses (all 3 are 35 amp). This switch is to go from AGM to acid batteries. Also there's been a few folks commenting on the forums about the size of the converter, they are 100 amp converters.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 08:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
atom ant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7,101
I know the brochure said 100A and yours may be, but our Progressive Dynamics is only a 90A
__________________
Brad & Dory - Lone Tree, CO
CURRENT - 2013 Itasca Meridian 42E/2013 Wrangler 4dr Sahara
SOLD - 2014 Redwood 36RL/2014 F350 DRW
atom ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 09:07 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,856
Progressive 90A here.
__________________
2012 F350 KR CC DRW w/ some stuff
2013 36FL
Cindy and Tom, Toby and Kasey (our Berner and Newfie)
Oh...I forgot the five kids.
spindrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 10:39 PM   #4
Site Team
 
hoosierguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave&Ginny View Post
After I took down the basement wall of my RL, I noticed that the inverter had a switch next to the fuses (all 3 are 35 amp). This switch is to go from AGM to acid batteries. Also there's been a few folks commenting on the forums about the size of the converter, they are 100 amp converters.
While I had my trailer into the factory service center last fall for its annual inspection, the converter was replaced due to causing flickering/pulsating lights in the coach. Randy pulled the 3 35 Amp fuses out of the original unit and gave them to me. I have checked several automotive suppliers since then for 35 Amp fuses and have not been able to find anything over 30 Amp. So, I suggest that the owners find a source for that fuse rating ahead of time. Also, the service center installed the new 100 Amp converter slightly differently by rotating it 90 degrees to get better cooling
__________________
Guy & Phyllis
2012 RW36RL,DualA/C,KodiakDiskBrakes,TrailAir Tri-Glide,GY_G614's,Mor/RydeSRE4000,HDShackles/WetBolts
2011Dodge3500Laramie,CrewCab,4x4,SRW,Michelins, LongBed,6.7LCTD,3.73,PullRiteSuper5th20.5KHitch, BlueOxBedsaver

hoosierguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 03:03 PM   #5
Member
 
Hoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 70
I have not been able to bring in the large bedroom slide. While I was trouble shooting/removing 12v fuses I noticed that some of the red lights beside the fuse that I pull out did not come on while others did. Any ideas with that.
__________________
2013 Redwood 36Rl Loaded with laundry dishwasher gennie 2 awnings etc. 2012 F-350 single axle diesel.

Hoistman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 04:23 PM   #6
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
I believe the little red lights only come on if the circuit has a power draw. There's others on here that probably have better knowledge on this
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 06:48 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Rick and Mindy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave&Ginny View Post
I believe the little red lights only come on if the circuit has a power draw. There's others on here that probably have better knowledge on this
Not 100% sure but I believe Dave is right. If there is no power draw than the light will not come on. I believe I read that on this forum some time back.
__________________
Rick and Mindy
Retired
2013 Redwood 31SL, 2011 Ford F350 SRW, 6.7, Crew Cab with Firestone Bags, Titan Disc Brakes
Rick and Mindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 11:13 PM   #8
Site Team
 
hoosierguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,278
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick and Mindy View Post
Not 100% sure but I believe Dave is right. If there is no power draw than the light will not come on. I believe I read that on this forum some time back.

That is correct. Under normal conditions of a enabled load, the fuse acts like a short circuit across the LED circuit so the LED does not have voltage across it to allow it to be energized.

For example, if a switch is closed to a lighting load and the fuse is good, the LED will not be energized. If the fuse opens, then the LED will be able to receive sufficient voltage to energize the LED. However, if the switch to the lighting load is open, then all of the voltage appears across the switch and the LED circuit cannot be energized even when the fuse is pulled.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Guy & Phyllis
2012 RW36RL,DualA/C,KodiakDiskBrakes,TrailAir Tri-Glide,GY_G614's,Mor/RydeSRE4000,HDShackles/WetBolts
2011Dodge3500Laramie,CrewCab,4x4,SRW,Michelins, LongBed,6.7LCTD,3.73,PullRiteSuper5th20.5KHitch, BlueOxBedsaver

hoosierguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.