Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2012, 10:24 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
lillyputz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 467


We have been using our heat pumps and floor heater as the morn temps have been in the mid to upper 40's with no problems.This morn allstarted outfine. With the air temp, inside, at approx. 70. the heat pumps quite working and now, only the floor heat comes on as temp drops. breakers are ok.
Any idea's.


Lillyputz
__________________
36RE Redwood LEMON
lillyputz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 04:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
KenM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 104
Heat pumps will only work to a certain low temputure around 40 degrees. A heat pump work by reversing the flow of the freon in your A/C for taking the heat out of the coach to taking the heat from outside. When the temputure gets low enough the temputure is to low to getenoughheat.

Most likly this is your problem.



Hope that helps.
KenM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 07:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
lillyputz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 467

Quote:
Originally Posted by KenM
Heat pumps will only work to a certain low temputure around 40 degrees. A heat pump work by reversing the flow of the freon in your A/C for taking the heat out of the coach to taking the heat from outside. When the temputure gets low enough the temputure is to low to getenoughheat.

Most likly this is your problem.



Hope that helps.

What has me stumped, is I turned on both a/c heat switchs.(as I have for the last few days) the heat pumpsand the floorheater came on. They all stayed on, untill thetemp got to72. then they all shut off. after the temp would drop, only the floor heater would come on, keeping the temp at 72. the heat pumps would not come on again.

Lillyputz
__________________
36RE Redwood LEMON
lillyputz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 07:54 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
5th_Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,120
John:
My thermos in my RL have "Electric Heat" for heat pumps and "heat" for gas furnace. On mine, you have to choose one or the other. How can you have the slide switch in two positions?
__________________
Mike & Pam '12 36RL, Kodiak Discs, 17.5" G114s H-Rated, SRE4000 w/HD Shackles, Joy Rider Shocks, Flex Air, 5.5 Onan, W&D, DW, 4 Scare Lights, (2) 6V Trojan T-145s; Progressive EMS-HW50C, Winegard DTV Sat, Sony/Denon 4K Home Theater, WiFiRanger EliteAC Pack, weBoost 4G-X Cell Booster.

'18 GMC Denali 3500HD CC, 4x4, DRW, DuraMax, Allison, Curt Q25 w/OEM Prep, Intellihaul Cameras, Transfer Flow 70gal Aux Tank/Toolbox.
5th_Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 11:17 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 216
Also, dont forget that if your set temp is more than 5 degrees off of the actual temp in the coach, the furnace will kick on as well as the heat pump to help get to the desired temps quickly. I was told that both of my heat pumps will work to temps into the mid 40's, after that the thermostat will run only on the furnace. Not sure why your heat pumps are not working... keep us updated.

__________________
2014 Ram 3500HD Longhorn
2013 Redwood 36RL
Enroute is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.