Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2012, 02:08 PM   #1
Member
 
John8545's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 98
In our motorhome user handbook, it was suggested not to run heat pump if temps were below 50 deg.!, but with this great handbook, written in China, that comes with our trailers, I can not find anything on using heat pump or gas heating. What do you use and how? Thanks for info, and safe travels.
John8545 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 04:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Radio_Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 448
I've been setting ours for automatic on the thermostat and electric heat. We've been down to 30 at night and the heat pump has worked great, with the propane heater kicking on when the heat pump wouldn't go. I'd say 50 isn't close, more like around the 40 mark. I saw someone post on here something about down to 30, but couldn't find it searching.
__________________
Skip & Patty
2013 Redwood 36RL
2015 Ram 3500 Laramie CC DRW 4x4 (Bertha)
USN Retired

Radio_Flyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 04:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 555
When setting for the first time you should only set it three to four degrees above ambient room temp then move it up from there another 3-4 degrees. Too far up will start up the heat pump and then it will switch over to the furnace. If you do it more than twice it will time out the heat pump for over an hour or more. I lost the email from brian on the exact facts. We use ours down to 36-40 degrees. After that you are pushing its limitations. Hope this helps.
__________________
Jay and Linda
2013 36RL
Tobys Home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 05:32 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21


I am a proud owner of a 2013 36RL. I have had it now for about a month. On my thermostat there is a switch that can be set for gas heat or electric heat. I do not see a way to set it so that it will choose between gas heat or electric heat. When set to gas heat it uses the furnace with floor vents, when set to electric heat it uses the heat pump on the A/C unit on the roof and air comes out of the ceiling vents. How do I set it so that it will use the heat pump when it can and if not, automatically switch to the furnace? My set up seems to be one way or the other, not both.
Sailorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 06:07 PM   #5
Member
 
John8545's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 98
Thank you for help, I will try auto and electric heat. Lucky we are only down to 48 deg. last couple of days. To all, happy and safe travels!
John8545 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 05:21 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 555
The thermostat at this point just does electric or gas. BUT as mentioned above it will overide electric if set too high and turn on the furnace but not the thermostat. This has been our experience.
__________________
Jay and Linda
2013 36RL
Tobys Home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:55 AM   #7
Member
 
John8545's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 98
Thank you Toby, I did notice the set up, and will try to see which way it works. Happy trails to you!
John8545 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:17 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 28


I have found humidity to be a factor in heat pump operation as well. While in Branson MO(high humidity - high 40s) we had our 36FB set to electric heat. By morning, the gas furnace had kicked it. Outside I noticed that the heat pump(s) had visibly iced upand shut downover night. We turned the system off and let the units defrost. They came back to life and worked fine.

Most recently, in Albuquerque NM (low humidity - low 40s) electric heat has worked like a champ. No icing, stable warm temperatures.

My only real heat pump issueis that we got two heat pumps but only one thermostat with an electric heat setting. The factory had screwed-up, BUT they made it right! Sent us the correct thermostat for the second heat pump. No complaints!
balorenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 01:41 AM   #9
Member
 
Tall-Pines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 80


Quote:
Originally Posted by balorenz
My only real heat pump issueis that we got two heat pumps but only one thermostat with an electric heat setting. The factory had screwed-up, BUT they made it right! Sent us the correct thermostat for the second heat pump. No complaints!
How can I check if my units are heat pumps and NOT just AC units? Is there a part number listed up on the roof on each unit? I know ONE of my units is a heat pump ... cuz it works when I set the main thermostat to Elec Heat. The bedroom thermostat is only an AC stat. I assume thatit has a corresponding AC only roof unit. Kinda bums me out that when I ordered and paid for the Heat Pump option, my trailer seems to have only one Heat Pump and I just kinda assumed that both units would have been upgraded.
Edited by: Tall-Pines
__________________
<font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><font color=BROWN>Ian & Jan</font>
Woodview, ON, Canada
2013 36RL w/2011 Ford F350 King Ranch DRW
</font><img src="http://cowco.net/images/RedwoodRVForumSig.jpg" border="0"
Tall-Pines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 10:48 AM   #10
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,377

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tall-Pines

Quote:
Originally Posted by balorenz
My only real heat pump issueis that we got two heat pumps but only one thermostat with an electric heat setting. The factory had screwed-up, BUT they made it right! Sent us the correct thermostat for the second heat pump. No complaints!
How can I check if my units are heat pumps and NOT just AC units? Is there a part number listed up on the roof on each unit? I know ONE of my units is a heat pump ... cuz it works when I set the main thermostat to Elec Heat. The bedroom thermostat is only an AC stat. I assume thatit has a corresponding AC only roof unit. Kinda bums me out that when I ordered and paid for the Heat Pump option, my trailer seems to have only one Heat Pump and I just kinda assumed that both units would have been upgraded.
I have the same situation on my trailer too
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.