Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2015, 05:43 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,854
GFCI outlets

Don't know why I never noticed but the outlet in our FL storage compartment and the one located on the side of the coach just to the left of the FLs storage compartment are marked "GFCI". Today I plugged my compressor into the storage compartment's outlet and no worky. Plugged it into the outside outlet and no worky. Looked at the breaker panel and none of the breakers are tripped. Any ideas?
__________________
2012 F350 KR CC DRW w/ some stuff
2013 36FL
Cindy and Tom, Toby and Kasey (our Berner and Newfie)
Oh...I forgot the five kids.
spindrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 05:49 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,375
Tom,

someone just told me that they were having problems with plugs as well. They found one bad plug that wiped out the others down line. So I would recommend taking your plugs out and inspecting the wires. You'll probably find a bad plug.

Good luck and have a happy safe 4th of July

dave
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 06:15 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,854
Thanks, Dave. I traced everything back to the GFCI outlet in the bathroom. This Is THE "regular" GFCI that has the reset /test button on it. Unfortunately, I found the outlet in the tripped position and it will not reset. I'm assuming that either the outlet is bad or the GFCI breaker in the electrical panel is bad, or both.

Have a safe holiday.
__________________
2012 F350 KR CC DRW w/ some stuff
2013 36FL
Cindy and Tom, Toby and Kasey (our Berner and Newfie)
Oh...I forgot the five kids.
spindrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 06:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Rick and Mindy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,375
Quote:
Originally Posted by spindrift View Post
Don't know why I never noticed but the outlet in our FL storage compartment and the one located on the side of the coach just to the left of the FLs storage compartment are marked "GFCI". Today I plugged my compressor into the storage compartment's outlet and no worky. Plugged it into the outside outlet and no worky. Looked at the breaker panel and none of the breakers are tripped. Any ideas?
I don't have my Redwood here to look at but I believe that the bathroom GFCI is what the remainder GFCI outlets feed from. Look at the bathroom outlet, I believe it has a set/reset button. You will need to reset that outlet to get power to the others. If there is no set/reset button on that outlet there has to be another on somewhere else or there would be a GFCI circuit breaker in the panel.
__________________
Rick and Mindy
Retired
2013 Redwood 31SL, 2011 Ford F350 SRW, 6.7, Crew Cab with Firestone Bags, Titan Disc Brakes
Rick and Mindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 06:46 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Jim & Mary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 534
I don't think there are GFCI "breakers" installed in the load center, just GFCI receptacles. As in a normal residence, only 1 GFCI receptacle need be installed and then GFCI required locations are connected downstream.
__________________


Jim & Mary 2013 36 RL with Titan Disc Brakes Residential Fridge Goodyear 17.5 H rated tires MORryde IS, MORryde pin box 2015 Ford F350 King Ranch DRW
Jim & Mary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 10:50 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
homeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by spindrift View Post
Thanks, Dave. I traced everything back to the GFCI outlet in the bathroom. This Is THE "regular" GFCI that has the reset /test button on it. Unfortunately, I found the outlet in the tripped position and it will not reset. I'm assuming that either the outlet is bad or the GFCI breaker in the electrical panel is bad, or both.

Have a safe holiday.
If it won't reset, then it is 1 of 2 issues.

1, the breaker is tripped. Even if it looks fine, turn it off and back on then try to reset it.
2, the issue is the GFCI. They will not reset when they are bad, have no power to them or there is something tripping it. After trying #1, test the voltage to it. if you have power, remove the load side (output) and try to reset it. IF it still does not reset, then your GFCI is bad. If it resets, then something down the line is causing it to trip and not reset. If you have no power, check the wire o the back of the breaker.

Have fun!
__________________
Fulltimers? Loving our 2012 36RL towed by 2016 Ram 3500 DRW Longhorn Crew cab with auto level system.
homeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 03:42 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,854
Changed out the GFCI outlet and all appears to be good. Thank you for the replies.
__________________
2012 F350 KR CC DRW w/ some stuff
2013 36FL
Cindy and Tom, Toby and Kasey (our Berner and Newfie)
Oh...I forgot the five kids.
spindrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 07:00 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
RifRaff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 286
Been a while since I was on the forum. I went to add a wall socket and found out our REDWOOD has A VERY VERY BAD WALL PLUG. I have been working to fix wall plug issue. Found 2 bad wall plugs and a GFI THAT once it trips, it's bad. Tonight I was going to bed and on the way went to grab a drink out of the fridge; frigde(residential type) circuit breaker popped. Had to reset the entire panel to get fridge back on line. BTW I have ove 47 years in Electroincs and electromechanical engineering, R&M of major test equipment. Thes are the CHEAPEST I have ever seen. My best recommendation is REPLACE any wall plugs.
Redwood used Single strand wire for the back of my 2012 36 FL. Looks like road vibration may have broke several wires. Don't misunderstand, we like our REDWOOD.
__________________
2010 DURAMAX 4x4 Crew Cab Redwood, 36FL with the BEST PERSON in the WORLD; my REDHEADED LADY!
RifRaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 04:20 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
travelin' texans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,650
What type of plug did you replace them with & I'm confused on the single strand wire? I'm not an electrician, but have always done my own work, so just trying to understand the problems you've mentioned.
__________________

Danny & Linda
Fulltimers since 2008
2013 Denali 3500 drw 4x4 d/a
2013 RW 36 FB black & tan (FOR SALE)
travelin' texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 05:00 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
homeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 514
All I've seen in my unit is romex and sj cord. Nothing unusual.
__________________
Fulltimers? Loving our 2012 36RL towed by 2016 Ram 3500 DRW Longhorn Crew cab with auto level system.
homeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.