Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2012, 10:28 AM   #1
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
For all of you that have Onan generators, I took mine into the shop to get it fixed. The factory service center said that they've had a few like mine come in for the same thing. There's a nut with plastic inert that holds the governor at the correct speed. The plastic is giving out so they placed a second nut above the original so it can't move. It this nut loosens up the generator shuts down due to over revving.

__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 11:04 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
5th_Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,120
Hi Dave:



Is the nutvisible when you remove the cover, or do you have to be a Onan Tech to be able to inspect it? Also, is the issue obvious when you are viewing it? I'll check mine tonight.
__________________
Mike & Pam '12 36RL, Kodiak Discs, 17.5" G114s H-Rated, SRE4000 w/HD Shackles, Joy Rider Shocks, Flex Air, 5.5 Onan, W&D, DW, 4 Scare Lights, (2) 6V Trojan T-145s; Progressive EMS-HW50C, Winegard DTV Sat, Sony/Denon 4K Home Theater, WiFiRanger EliteAC Pack, weBoost 4G-X Cell Booster.

'18 GMC Denali 3500HD CC, 4x4, DRW, DuraMax, Allison, Curt Q25 w/OEM Prep, Intellihaul Cameras, Transfer Flow 70gal Aux Tank/Toolbox.
5th_Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 11:51 AM   #3
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
if you take the cover off and look to the right, you'll see a spring running down to the governor with a 10mil. nut attached to the end of a hook like connection. If I were you I would simply put another nut on top of the original nut so it can't move. Apparently the nylon bushings get loose allowing the nut to unscrew and causing the generator to over rev.

__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 06:49 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
KR2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959
Be careful if you so much as move the plastic nut an 8th of a turn the Gen will not run. Then you will have to take to a shop to have it reset.
__________________

"75 FEET OF FUN ON THE RUN"
KR2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 05:58 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
BradPAjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 455
All,

Found an issue today. My wife was blow drying her hair using the bathroom GFI. The washer was running at the time and we were on 30 amp service in a campsite. Blew the campsite breaker at the shore power connection. While I waited for the camp attendant to come and reset the breaker for our site I thought we could use the $4000 generator.

I disconnected our shore power, opened the main breaker so I had no load and started the generator. I had everything turned off and closed the 50 amp breaker on our panel and .... WTFO! The only thing that would work was the AC. The frig showed no AC and switched to DC mode, the dryer would work, the microwave would go thru start up mode and then shut off. No power to any 110 outlets either...

What is going on... is there a overload disconnect that I am not aware of when we exceed 30 amps?

Is there some sort of magic to having the genset power the whole trailer? I assumed the genset supplied 50 amps to everything.

I assume the electrical box is split between 120 v and 12 v and there are no hidden fuses somewhere else?

Nice to find this now rather than in a Wal-Mart on my way home with 30lbs of lobster in my freezer!


__________________
2016 F-350 Crew Cab 4x4 Dually Diesel, 2013 38BR Office config with all options and upgrades but Ceiling Fan and Ice Maker.
BradPAjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 09:30 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
mhs4771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,324


There should be two breaker on the front of the Genny, make sure they're both on and that one hasn't tripped
__________________
Michelle & Ann
2018 Chevy 3500HD Crew Cab High Country DRW, D/A, 2016 RW39MB, Dual ACs, Auto Level, Auto Sat Dish, Stack W/D, King Sleep #, 17.5" Sailuns w/Disc, MORryde IS & Pin, Comfort Ride Hitch, 5.5 Onan, Res Fridge & Induction Cook Top
mhs4771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 09:36 PM   #7
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
I agree...there must be something wrong with breaker. My generator supplies power to everything without a problem. When I went to the factory for service I camped in their parking lot without any inconvenience at all.

__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 10:56 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
BradPAjax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 455
Hi,

Found the 2 breakers hidden behind a wiring harness... one was tripped. Hope problem is now fixed. Breakers only good for 30 amps so I only have 30 amp capacity with genny?

Dave... what were you able to run while in the parking lot?


__________________
2016 F-350 Crew Cab 4x4 Dually Diesel, 2013 38BR Office config with all options and upgrades but Ceiling Fan and Ice Maker.
BradPAjax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 11:14 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
5th_Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,120



Brad, It's 55A. Manual says46A120V output. Both Red and Black legs in the 6/3cord are hot. 30A breaker for each leg. If one breaker was popped, you only had about 23A output. You should be fine now that you reset breaker on the other leg..
Edited by: 5th_Time
__________________
Mike & Pam '12 36RL, Kodiak Discs, 17.5" G114s H-Rated, SRE4000 w/HD Shackles, Joy Rider Shocks, Flex Air, 5.5 Onan, W&D, DW, 4 Scare Lights, (2) 6V Trojan T-145s; Progressive EMS-HW50C, Winegard DTV Sat, Sony/Denon 4K Home Theater, WiFiRanger EliteAC Pack, weBoost 4G-X Cell Booster.

'18 GMC Denali 3500HD CC, 4x4, DRW, DuraMax, Allison, Curt Q25 w/OEM Prep, Intellihaul Cameras, Transfer Flow 70gal Aux Tank/Toolbox.
5th_Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 10:04 AM   #10
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379

Quote:
Originally Posted by BradPAjax
Hi,

Found the 2 breakers hidden behind a wiring harness... one was tripped. Hope problem is now fixed. Breakers only good for 30 amps so I only have 30 amp capacity with genny?

Dave... what were you able to run while in the parking lot?

I can run everything in my trailer including both A/C if I want to.

A special note from the Onan folks: when I was getting mine service they said they'd never seen a Onan worn out. They always see the under used ones, which causes problems. They said to ALWAYS run them at least 2 hours EVERY month even in the winter. AND always run them under a heavy load like with both A/C units on.

They routinely get people coming in with a 6 year old generator complaining about them not working and the hour meter reads 7 hours on it. The people think the generator should still be like new since it hadn't been used.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.