Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2011, 06:57 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Redwood2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 9


I have purchased a new Redwood 34SK and am expecting to receive it in mid to late January. I purchased the generator option with the unit, along with the washer/dryer, 2nd A/C with heat pump, and fireplace. Has anyone had any experience with the 5.5kw generator option and any limitations about what equipment can run without overloading the generator?
__________________
Born to be Free
Redwood2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 10:41 AM   #2
Site Team
 
hoosierguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,282
I am not an expert on the generator option. I have seen on other forums that folks use generators in the range of 4000 to 7000 watts. I can tell you that you won't be able to run many loads simultaneously especially the larger loads like an air condition or the fireplace heater. Some simple calculations will give you a rough idea, for example a 13,500 BTU/Hr A/C converts to line watts of approximately 4395 watts at 90% efficiency and a 15000 BTU/Hr A/C converts to line watts of approximately 4900 watts at 90% efficiency.A 5.5 KW generator should allow you to run either one of those loads plus a few lights.
__________________
Guy & Phyllis
2012 RW36RL,DualA/C,KodiakDiskBrakes,TrailAir Tri-Glide,GY_G614's,Mor/RydeSRE4000,HDShackles/WetBolts
2011Dodge3500Laramie,CrewCab,4x4,SRW,Michelins, LongBed,6.7LCTD,3.73,PullRiteSuper5th20.5KHitch, BlueOxBedsaver

hoosierguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 02:18 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Redwood2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 9


Thanks for the input.I will do some testing when I get my RV to determine the limits, especially on equipemnt startups demands from motors.
__________________
Born to be Free
Redwood2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 02:30 PM   #4
Member
 
redwood5er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 30
I am surprised at the high watts, since the FLA on most 15000 BTU AC's is approx 3300 Watts and they run on a 20 amp circuit. I would suggest you ask the salesman to get you the FLA from the boiler plate on the AC. A 5.5K Genset will be more than enough. I know several owners that are using 3 to 3.5K Gensets without any issue.

Tony
__________________
Tony & Sharon
Ontario, Canada
redwood5er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 02:49 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Redwood2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 9


I will test the loading with an Amp meter when I get my 34SK in January while running on supplied electrical outlet. I should be able to determine individual AC equipment loading demands and wattage requirement.
__________________
Born to be Free
Redwood2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 07:14 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
A 5500 watt generator will easily run two air conditioners with power to spare. Most modern RV a/c's run a peak startup of less than 20 amps and steadily operate at less than 15 amps. Even 20 amps at 120 volts is only 2400 watts.

Palladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 05:50 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
We have a 5.5 and have no problem with 2 a/c's running in Fl. hot sumer
__________________
still working
Fjkiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 09:26 AM   #8
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
I NEED INFORMATION! My dealer is telling me I may have to switch from a gas 5.5 generator to a LP. How long does a 40# LP tank last while running a generator?

They originally said they could install a 20 gallon gas tank but now they aren't so sure.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 10:11 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
KR2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959


Look on the Onan website you should be able to find the info there. I will guess at mid level output 1 tank might last 24 hrs or so running non stop.
__________________

"75 FEET OF FUN ON THE RUN"
KR2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:11 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
h2oman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
I have a buddy how has a propane 6500 watt gen. When it is running 1 ac it burns .65 gallons per hr. A 40 lb tank is 9.25 gallons.

I have a 5500 watt gas gen. It will burn .6 gallons per hr.

__________________
2012 Redwood 36RL 2005 450 Ford Flatbed




h2oman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:24 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
KR2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959


That sounds right I had a 5500 watt with a 6 gallon tank and undwer full load it would run between 10 and 12 hours on a tank of fuel.
__________________

"75 FEET OF FUN ON THE RUN"
KR2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 02:45 PM   #12
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379
Well I'm disappointed but I guess the dealer was wrong when he said he could put a gas generator in my Redwood. He said he thought he could because he'd done it before in Montanas. They said that in the Montana they would remove the under belly and stick a 20 gallon fuel cell in there somehow but Redwood didn't like the idea and there could be a warranty issue if something went wrong. He also thought he could put a small fuel cell next to the generator but Redwood strongly recommended against that idea too.

So I'm stuck with an LP generator. I've already ordered the 40# LP tanks and they are going to put a spare 40# LP tank in the basement mounted so it won't move.

Anyway thanks to all of you that sent me information on this.


__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 03:16 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
KR2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959


Not to burst your bubble but you cant mount the spare tank in the belly, it would have to be in a compartment that is sealed off from the belly and living space because of the possibility of a leak and that compartment must have ventalation out of the bottom because lp gasis heaver than air so if there is a leak it can escape to the outside safely. I think I would question the dealer on this because it is not safe or legal, there are many state and federal laws about the transporting of lp gas.
__________________

"75 FEET OF FUN ON THE RUN"
KR2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 04:06 PM   #14
Member
 
Flyfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 50
I was thinking that if my experience calls for spare propane I might carry a 40# lb bottle, well secured, in the back of our tow vehicle. I have heard that propane bottles should be hauled in their upright position. I have a little gas grill that takes those small screw in portable bottles that will also go into the back of the truck in case of a leak. I thought about using the hitch on the back of our 36re and rigging a carrier there but the cost goes up and I'm not sure how safe that would be in the event of a rear end fender bender. I agree whole heatedly with kr2011 that bottles should not be hauled in the basement.
__________________
Brett and Jan
Flyfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 06:01 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
lillyputz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 467


Check, if there is room for a horizonal mount propane tank above were the gen will be installed.



Lillyputz
__________________
36RE Redwood LEMON
lillyputz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 06:13 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
lillyputz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 467
For those with the factory installed gen. what type of remote start is supplied.



Thanks

Lillyputz
__________________
36RE Redwood LEMON
lillyputz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 06:17 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
KR2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959
When you say remote start are you talking about the start/stop switch inside or a hand held remote?
__________________

"75 FEET OF FUN ON THE RUN"
KR2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 06:49 PM   #18
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379

Quote:
Originally Posted by lillyputz
For those with the factory installed gen. what type of remote start is supplied.



Thanks

Lillyputz

I was told that the controls for the generator will be in the closet by the door.
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 06:51 PM   #19
Site Team
 
Dave&Ginny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5,379


I wonder if there is room by the battery boxes...How about some of you folks that already have these trailers, is there room up front for an extra bottle?
__________________
SOB "The RV Wiseguy"
Dave&Ginny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 07:03 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
KR2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 959
Lillyputz they are on the same panel as the tank monitor.
__________________

"75 FEET OF FUN ON THE RUN"
KR2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Redwood RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×